World Champions Set to be Crowned at 2016 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for Adaptive Surfing, ISA News, World Surfing News.

Team USA leads heading into final day, Brazil close on their tail

ATTENTION MEDIA: For daily photos, video highlights and video news releases, visit:

Excellent conditions greeted the world’s best adaptive surfers on the second day of the 2016 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship presented by Vissla and the City of San Diego. The stage was set for the final day of competition on Sunday where the individual medalists and historic first-ever Team World Champion will be crowned.

AUS_Mark_Stewart_SeanEvans-6Defending Gold Medalist Mark Stewart (AUS) pulling into a turquoise barrel on his way to the finals. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans.

Team USA put on a solid performance and moved into first place in the overall team standings, just a slight margin ahead of Team Brazil in second.

Click here to see the full team standings:

“The passion and energy of these surfers is second to none,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “These surfers’ determination, dedication and passion for Surfing will culminate tomorrow when we crown the World Champions. Regardless of who wins the medals, we will finish the contest tomorrow knowing that the sport of Adaptive Surfing has taken a huge step forward and will continue to spread joy to the lives of others around the world.”

Drone_SeanEvans-2La Jolla Shores gave the athletes plenty to be excited about with excellent morning conditions. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Saturday morning at La Jolla Shores saw an increase in swell, providing clean 2-3+ foot waves and excellent, glassy conditions. All the six classification divisions competed where the top two waves from either of the first two rounds were totaled to advance onto the single elimination rounds.

South Africa’s JP Veaudry and Brazil’s Fellipe Lima were the stand out performers, respectively earning the two highest heats of the day with 17.94 and 17.40.

Lifestyle_Team_South_Africa_Grant_05Team South Africa meets JP Veaudry at the water’s edge after he posted the highest heat total of the day. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant

Llwelyn Williams, the sole representative of Team Wales, powered through the AS-2 division for standing and kneeling surfers with above the knee amputations. In Round 2 Williams posted a heat total of 12.67, beating the defending Gold Medal Mark ‘Mono’ Stewart (AUS). Williams continued his strong performance in the single elimination Quarterfinals and advanced through to the Semifinals on Sunday.

“The waves today are great, better than yesterday,” said Williams. “It’s a huge thing to be representing my country. I don’t want to let them down. I am going to rest well tonight and hope for good waves for the Finals tomorrow.”

USA’s Dani Burt put on a strong showing for the female competitors, arriving to the AS-2 Quarter Finals where she fell just short. Competing among the men, Burt needed less than a half point to advance.

USA_Dani_Burt_SeanEvans-3USA’s Dani Burt, put on a strong showing for the female competitors. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Canada’s Victoria Feige was not able to advance to the final day, however she spoke about the huge step for the growth of female Adaptive Surfing that was taken in the second edition of the event.

“It’s fantastic to be one of the females here,” said Feige. “It’s great to represent my country in this championship and prove that girls can charge just as hard.”

“Adaptive Surfing has been a wonderful thing in my life,” Feige added, “I was a surfer before my injury and I really wanted to get back into it. It’s that same feeling, speed, rush and acceleration that I have always loved.”

As the heats progressed through the afternoon, legendary surfer, Damien Hobgood, came down to La Jolla Shores to show his support for the sport of Adaptive Surfing.

“I was frothing to get down here,” said Hobgood. “These athletes are fearless and full of courage. It’s inspirational for me and everyone here watching on the beach.”

To wrap up the day, Round 2 of the Assist (AS-5) and Visually Impaired (AS-VI) Divisions took to the water. Jesse Billauer (USA) and Davi Teixeira (BRA), the respective Gold and Silver Medalists from the inaugural edition in the Assist Division, both advanced through to the Final. Having built a strong bond through the sport of Adaptive Surfing, Billauer and Teixeira will go head to head tomorrow for a rematch at the Gold Medal.

The schedule for the final day of competition is as follows:

7:30am – 8:50am: AS-1 (Stand/Kneel) Quarterfinals
8:50am – 9:30am: AS-5 (Assist) Semifinals
9:30am – 10:10am: AS-2 (Stand/Kneel) Semifinals
10:10 – 10:50am: AS-1 (Stand/Kneel) Semifinals
10:50am – 11:15: AS-VI (Visually Impaired) Final
11:15am – 11:40am: AS-5 (Assist) Final
11:40am – 12:05pm: AS-4 (Prone) Final
12:05pm – 12:30pm: AS-3 (Upright) Final
12:30pm – 12:55pm: AS-2 (Stand/Kneel) Final
12:55pm – 1:20pm: AS-1 (Stand/Kneel) Final

Schedule is subject to change.

Catch all the action on the live webcast on

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).