What makes Surfing special? — ISA President Fernando Aguerre explains

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Under Fernando Aguerre’s presidency of the ISA, Surfing has gone on a wild ride from a dream of Olympic inclusion, to a spot on the sports program of the Games.

Now that Surfing is officially included in — at least — the next two editions of the Games, Aguerre reflects on what it is that makes Surfing so special. What is it about the sport that aligns so well with the values of the Olympic Games?

First off, the ocean is free. No one owns it, sells it, or rents it.

Secondly, the ocean is the great equalizer. It doesn’t matter whether you are poor or rich, in the ocean, we are all equals, riding waves just as anyone else does.

Watch the video for the rest!

To get more content from the ISA, subscribe to our YouTube Channel.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).