Twenty-One Countries Looking for the Gold in Panama

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Magoo de la Rosa (PER), 2007 Grand Masters World Champion is ready for the challenge. Photo: ISA/Stone

Magoo de la Rosa (PER), 2007 Grand Masters World Champion is ready for the challenge. Photo: ISA/Stone

The Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship breaks records in number of countries and competitors

Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
Santa Catalina, Panama
27 August – 5 September, 2010

Twenty-one countries and over 120 surfers have confirmed their participation in the Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship, surpassing the 2008 event both in terms of countries and individual participants.

National Teams from Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Tahiti, Uruguay and Venezuela will be competing for the gold, in the world’s most important surfing event for surfers of over 35 years of age.

The first edition of the event, held in Puerto Rico, 2007, had 12 countries and a total of 66 competitors. One year later, in Peru, the event had 17 countries and 105 athletes. Showing the consistent growth of Master surfing around the world, Panama will host a record-breaking event in the perfect rights of Santa Catalina.

“This is great news!” Said International Surfing Association President, Fernando Aguerre. “It shows how relevant and attractive this event has become for all the Masters surfers in the world. Surfers from all countries are now able to surf in their national team from junior to open to master divisions. This is great!”

The list shows a strong contingent of surfers with the likes of former ASP World Tour top 5 and 1988 ISA World Champion, Fabio Gouveia (BRA). His fellow countryman, Victor Ribas also a former ASP World Tour top 5. Defending Champions Heather Clark (RSA), Chris Knutsen (RSA), Marc Wright (RSA), Juan Ashton (PUR) and former Grand Masters Champion, Magoo de la Rosa (PER) among others great athletes.

With the biggest swell of the year hitting Panamanian coasts, reaching the 20-foot range, 21 national surfing teams from all over the world are arriving to Panama.

Everything is set for a legendary contest that will write the following pages of surfing history.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).