Top class surfing on the Final Day of the 2014 Durban July Surfing Extravaganza at Bay of Plenty

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

Durban July Surfing Extravaganza
Surfing South Africa Pro Surf Tour event
Bay of Plenty, Durban
Friday to Sunday July 11 -13 , 2014

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal (Monday July 14, 2014) –  After three days of competition in contestable 2-3 foot conditions at the Bay of Plenty involving over 100 surfers, ten individual champions were crowned on the final day of the 2014 Durban July Surfing Extravaganza.

image0022013 ISA Scholarship recipient, National Junior team member and SAMSA sponsored double finalist Ntando Msibi Photo : Fabian Coetzer.

The Durban July Surfing Extravaganza was sanctioned by Surfing South Africa as a 2A Rated Pro Surf Tour event, supported by the City of Durban and the South African Marine Safety Authority, presented by Phindani Nene of Durban Stars and hosted by the KZN Central Surfriders Association. The contest offered over R50,000 in prize money across the ten divisions.

The three day competition featured Men, Women, Pro Junior Boys and Girls and U18, U16 and U14 divisions for boys and girls and thanks to the generous prize money and the 2A PST ratings points on offer, surfers from all parts of the country made the trip to Surf City to take on the KZN locals in their own back yard.

The Men’s Final was won by Beyrick de Vries of Umhlanga who is currently ranked 39th on the ASP Qualifying Series and 10th on the SSA Pro Surf Tour. De Vries narrowly defeated fellow Quiksilver team riders Dan Redman of Durban North and Davey Van Zyl of Glenashley into second and third place respectively while Garret Parkes of Australia placed fourth.

O’Neill team rider Heidi Palmboom of the Bluff won the Women’s final from the legendary two time World Masters Champion Heather Clark of Port Shepstone with current National Team member Tanika Hoffman of Hout Bay in Cape Town taking third spot ahead of Jess Wilson of Durban North.

Honours and a maiden national Under 20 Boys Division title went the way of Bryce Burness of Berea. Bryce is the son of former National Team member and top South African pro surfer of the 1980’s, Mike Burness and grandson of Peter Burness. Peter Burness, the doyen of professional surfing in South Africa for close on three decades and senior member of the ASP, coordinated and ran the famous Gunston 500 and other professional surfing events on Durban’s beachfront.

Jarred Veldhuis of Kommetjie took second place in the Under 20 final with 2014 National Junior Team member and SAMSA supported surfer Ntando Msibi of Durban ending third ahead of Devin Whitehead of Morningside.

Nicole Pallet of La Lucia won the U20 Girls title in style beating another Rip Curl surfer, Teal Hogg of Umhlanga into second place. Fellow National Junior team member Chanelle Botha of Warner Beach was third and Jade Story of Mount Edgecombe came fourth.

The well supported Under 18 Boys division final went the way of talented Lizzard team rider Bevan Willis of Ballito who beat Under 20 Division finalist Whitehead into second place. Under 20 Champion Burness was third and another Under 20 finalist and 2013 ISA Scholarship recipient Msibi, came fourth.

Lizzy team rider Botha won the Under 18 Girls title with Jade Mets of Salt Rock taking second. Under 18 finalist Story was third and Olivia Brand of Umdloti took fourth spot.

Willis also took honours in the competitive Under 16 Boys division with Sebastian Williams of Jeffrey’s Bay ending second. Matthew Sills of Berea was third and Ben Dancaster of Durban came fourth.

Five girls contested the Under 16 Final which was won by 2014 SA Junior Team member and Lizzy surfer Cana Foster of Umdloti. Talented Gabi Lailvaux of Westbrook made her grandpa, Paul Van der Wall’s day, when she finished in second place ahead of Rachel Wood of La Lucia, Kelly Medley of Durban North and Olivia Izzard of La Lucia.

RVCA surfer Sebastian Williams made sure that his trip up the coast with his dad,Nick,was worthwhile when he showed his class in winning the U14 Boys title. Talented Hurley team rider Karl Steen of Morningside was second, Christian Brand of Umdloti came third and Calvin Goor of Durban was fourth.

The U14 Girls division victory was secured by a stoked Billabong surfer and U16 finalist Olivia Izzard. One of Izzard’s rides was an 8 pointer which helped her post one of the highest heat scores of the day. Kelly Medley was second,Lailvaux was third and Tayla Muller of Umgeni Heights was fourth.

The full results are available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za and photos are available in the gallery on the KZNSA facebook page.

Surfing South Africa is the recognised governing body for surfing in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).