The remaining six teams are announced for the ISA China Cup

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Brazil, France, Hawaii, Japan, Portugal and USA Join Australia and Peru as the 8 Invited National Teams in the Second Annual Competition on Hainan Island, China

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
January 25 to 30, 2013
Wanning, Hainan, China

Wanning, Hainan, China, January 23, 2013- The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce that the ISA China Cup, which is the first event of the ISA’s Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, has confirmed the remaining six teams that will be competing in China from January 26 to 27. The National Teams are representing Brazil, France, Hawaii, Japan, Portugal, and USA.

These Teams will join Peru and Australia’s National Surfing Teams to complete the eight total teams that will be contending for the ISA China Cup.

2012 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship Gold Medalist Sunny Garcia will be a member of Team Hawaii. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

“There’s only a few days to go before the Opening Ceremony and the ISA China Cup begin. All eight National Teams have been announced and the surfers have begun to arrive in Wanning,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The surfers will be practicing at the world-class left point break at Riyue Bay in preparation for the competition that begins on Saturday. Great waves and warm weather are welcoming the delegations. As I like to remind all athletes, at the ISA China Cup, while a few competitors will go home with medals, all of them are already winners, as they are surfing as members of their National Surfing Teams.”

Brazil´s Diana de Souza will return to China and will be looking to improve on her 3rd place finish from last year´s ISA China Cup. Photo: ISA/Agustin Muñoz

The Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will officially begin on Friday with the Opening Ceremony and Parade of Nations. The following day, the first day of the ISA China Cup will kick-off the competition and on Sunday, the champions will be crowned.

Following the ISA China Cup will be the ISA’s Hainan Classic, 4-Star Men’s ASP, with a prize purse of $95,000 US, which will take place from January 28 to 30, and will feature the best surfers in the world, including defending Champion and ASP World Tour surfer Glenn Hall, competing for a berth on the ASP World Tour.
The event will be webcast live on

Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Connor O’Leary Wade Carmichael Lincoln Taylor Mitchel Crews Nicola Van Dijk Philippa Anderson Jeremy Sheppard Martin Dunn
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Deivid Da Silva Messias Felix Matheus Navaro Michael Rodrigues Diana De Souza Suelen De Almeida Adalvo Argolo Gabriel Macedo
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Maxime Huscenot Vincent Duvignac Medi Veminardi Aime Adrien Kouhery Alize Arnaud Johanne Defay Patrick Flores Stephane Corbinien
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Kaipo Jaquias Sunny Garcia Kaoliopuuwai Kahokuloa Dustin Cuizon Nage Melamed Alessa Quizon Rainos Hayes Keiki Lindo
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Shun Murakami Takumi Nakamura Kaito Ohashi Kenta Hayashi Nao Omura Hinako Kurokawa Kimifumi Imoto Osamu Yoshinaga
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Carlos Mario Zapata Juninho Urcia Joaquin Del Castillo Sebastian Alarcon Valeria Sole Miluksa Tello Ricardo Kaufman Oswaldo Velez
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Vasco Ribeiro Frederico Rodrigues Eduardo de Castro Joao Saldanha Carina da Silva Maria Sepulveda Jose Teixeira Pedro Sampaio
Open Men Open Women Coach Team Official
Cory Lopez Cameron Richards Gabe Kling Chris Wearing Erica Hosseini Demi Boelsterli Ian Cairns Gregory Cruse
About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit