Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Also, Gary Van Wieringen (RSA) and Ross Williams (HAW) are Awarded Silver and Bronze Medals in the Masters Division of the 2011 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship

ISA Headquarters, La Jolla, California, August 19, 2013- The International Surfing Association (ISA) announced today that as a result of a positive drug test by Gold Medalist Mark Richardson (AUS), Puerto Rico’s Carlos Cabrero has been awarded the Gold Medal in the Masters Division (over 35 years old) of the 2011 El Salvador ISA World Masters Surfing Championship. This competition was held at the famous right-hand point break, Punta Roca, La Libertad from October 16-23, 2011.

With maneuvers like this at El Salvador’s famous right-hand point break, Punta Roca, Carlos Cabrero is the new Gold Medalist of the 2011 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship.

The ISA also awarded Gary Van Wieringen (RSA) the Silver Medal, who moved from 3rd to 2nd and Ross Williams (HAW) the Bronze Medal, who moved from 4th to 3rd, leaving the 4th place, Copper Medal position vacant.

The ISA is a signatory of the WADA (World Anti Doping Agency) Code and, as a result, is required to conduct drug tests at all ISA World Championships. Richardson tested positive for Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), exceeding the maximum level under the Wada Code in force at that time. Following a lengthy review process, Richardson lost his Gold Medal, team points and received a three-month sanction, which has been completed.

Puerto Rico’s Carlos Cabrero is the new Gold Medalist of the 2011 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in El Salvador.

“The ISA has been conducting drug tests at every ISA World Championship since 1992. Since then, the ISA has conducted over 600 drug tests, including to all finalists at all our World Championships, and this is the first Gold Medalist who has tested positive,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).