The ISA Announces the Newest Member of the Executive Committee

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Beacham, who competed at the Pro Surfing Tour several years and won it in 1982, is now part of the ISA

Women’s 1982 World Pro Tour Champion selected to serve

The International Surfing Association is proud to announce that former surfing World Champion, Debbie Beacham (USA) has been selected to serve on the Executive Committee of the ISA. The ISA is the world governing body of the sport as recognized by the International Olympic Committee. Beacham fills the vacancy left when Robin DeKock (RSA) completed his term in October 2010, choosing to not run for re-election for the coming 4-year term.

Beacham joins an Executive Committee that includes President Fernando Aguerre (ARG), and Vice-Presidents Alan Atkins (AUS), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karin Sierralta (PER).

The ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said, “I am truly excited that Debbie has been selected to serve the ISA’s Members on the Executive Committee. Debbie is a former world champion surfer that still surfs every day. She was the founder and organizer of the women’s pro surfing world tour, who has dedicated her career to improving women’s surfing. She has also made important humanitarian and environmental contributions in California.”

Aguerre continued: “Adding a former world-class female competitor to the Executive Committee is a positive move by the ISA, fully in line with the IOC direction of having more women and more athletes in leadership positions at the International Federations. The addition of a person with Debbie’s experience will be a great asset as we work for a better surfing future.”

Beacham has a long and storied history in surfing. Her accomplishments include:

– 1972 ISF World Contest, 5th Place
– 1980 Women’s Professional Surfing (WPS) President
– 1982 Women’s World Professional Surfing Champion
– 1982 Surfer Poll Winner
– 1983 Bells Beach Surf Classic Champion
– 1985-1991 Surfer Magazine National Advertising Manager
– 1982-1991 ASP Board of Directors Women’s Representative
– 1991 Awarded ASP Lifetime Membership
– 1994 Co-produced award-winning film documentary, Surfer Girl

“The one thing that surfing always provides is a way of connecting with each other,” commented Beacham, “and taking that to an international level is what the ISA is all about. This is an exciting time to be involved with the ISA. So much work has already been accomplished, and I look forward to working alongside Fernando and the Executive Committee to increase the ISA’s footprint to new nations around the world, develop StandUp Paddle, bring more women into the sport and especially into ISA events, and to eventually honor our talented athletes on the world stage of the Olympics. I continue to have a lifelong love of surfing, and I hope to add to what the ISA is already creating for a better surfing future.”

Beacham’s tenure on the ISA Executive Committee became effective on March 3rd, 2011 and, as per the Constitution, will continue until the 2014 Biennial General Meeting (BGM).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).