The Canary Islands Gets Ready to Crown the 12th ISA World Bodyboard Champions

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Spanish bodyboarder Alvaro Padrón takes flight in Huntington Beach, 2006, where he won the Copper Medal. Photo: ISA

The city of Galdar awaits the world’s best bodyboarders for the main team event in the discipline to take place from November 30 to December 4

ISA World Bodyboarding Championship
Galdar, Gran Canaria, Spain
November 30 – December 4

The Spanish Surfing Federation along with the International Surfing Association are advancing on the preparations to crown the 12th ISA World Champion at the first ever, stand alone ISA World Bodyboarding Championship.

The event will take place in the heavy slab waves of El Frontón and la Guancha (Galdar City) in the Canary Islands, Spain from November 30 until December 4, 2011.

The ISA included the Bodyboard division in its World Surfing Games beginning in 1988, when USA’s Chris Cunninghan won the Gold Medal.

The ISA’s Bodyboarding Gold Medalists includes:
1988 (Aguadilla, Puerto Rico): Chris Cunninghan (USA)
1990 (Chiba, Japan): Jackie Buder (HAW)
1992 (Lacanau, France): Nicolas Capdeville (FRA)
1994 (Río de Janeiro, Brazil): Jefferson Anute (BRA)
1996 (Huntington Beach, USA): Guilherme Tamega (BRA)
1998 (Carcavelos, Portugal): Gonçalo Faria (POR)
2000 (Maracaipe, Brasil): Guilherme Tamega (BRA)
2002 (Durban, South Africa): Nicolas Capdeville (FRA)
2004 (Salinas, Ecuador): Andrew Lester (AUS)
2006 (Huntington Beach, California): Manuel Centeno (POR)
2008 (Costa de Caparica, Portugal): Marcus Lima (BRA)

This will be the first time ever that Bodyboard-only teams from all over the world gather to compete in the following divisions: Open Men (Prone), Open Women (Prone), Under 18 Men (Prone) and Open Drop Knee.

Each team will consist of:

2 Open Men
1 Open Women
1 Under 18 Men
1 Drop Knee Open

Plus Alternates and Team Officials.

Athletes will compete for the medals and the honor of representing their countries. The event’s biggest honor goes to the winning team, the one that combines more individual points, which will win the Team Gold Medal.

El Frontón and La Guancha are located in Galdar, on the island of Gran Canaria, which was originally populated by the Canarii (Guanches), who are believed to have arrived as early as 500 BC. The Canarii named the island Tamarán, “Land of the Brave.” After more than a century of European invasions and attempts at conquest, the island was conquered in 1483 by the Kingdom of Castile. This resulted in a significant step towards the expansion of the unified nation of Spain.
The capital city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria was founded in 1478, under the name “Real de Las Palmas.” Today the city is bursting with cultural and social features of entertainment, in addition to the four main beaches visitors are often drawn to, Las Canteras, Las Alcaravaneras, la Laja, and Confital.

Considered the European Hawaii, Canary Islands have world-class waves, constant temperature throughout the year (between 20ºC and 32ºC) and warm water. Galdar City generates some of the best waves in the world for bodyboarding. It has abundant, good accommodations and very welcoming people.

Everything’s getting revved up as the world’s best bodyboarders kick off the competition in El Frontón and La Guancha for the ISA World Bodyboard Title on November 30.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).