Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

23 National Delegations Marched Through the Streets of Miraflores in the Parade of Nations during the Opening Ceremony

The 2013 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship, was officially inaugurated this Sunday, February 24, 2013. In attendance were the 23 countries that traveled to Peru from every corner of the world. Local authorities, officials and hundreds of enthusiastic locals were witnesses to the start of the 2nd annual World Championship.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre amongst the flags of the National Teams declared the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship officially open. Photo: ISA/Tweddle.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre amongst the flags of the National Teams declared the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship officially open. Photo: ISA/Tweddle.

The National Delegations walked around Parque Kennedy, which is located at the heart of Miraflores, as hundreds of local spectators cheered them on. When arriving to the main stage, each flag bearer waving their national flag, poured sand from their local beach into a glass container symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

“This is a record in participation in the short history of this event. Last year we had 17 countries and this year we have 23 countries and over 150 competitors,” stated ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “I’ve been asked why we come back to Peru, and I said that we think about things and we need three elements to decide where we go, great waves, good logistic, and a great climate, not only for its weather, also for its people. Thanks Peru for receiving us for a fifth year in a row.”

23 nations paraded through the streets of the beautiful surf town Miraflores in Lima, Peru. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

Aguerre was joined at the Opening Ceremony by the Representative from the Municipality of Miraflores, Mrs. Patricia Delrio Jimenez de Olavide, Founder of the ISA and Legendary Peruvian Surfer, Eduardo Arena, Legendary Peruvian Surfer, Hector Velarde, President of the Peruvian Sports Institute Francisco Boza, President of FENTA (Peruvian National Surfing Federation), Carlos Neuhaus, and Event Organizer, Karin Sierralta.

“I’m glad that Miraflores is once again the host of a World Championship,” said Patricia Maria del Río Andrade, Mayor of Miraflores representative. “I know that last year, Peru placed fifth, I hope that this year it takes the Gold Medal. Either way, I wish the best of luck to all the participating countries. Welcome to all!”

After a showcase of the Peruvian culture, with the traditional national dance of “La Marinera Norteña,” President Aguerre officially declared open the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship open.

All the action starts tomorrow at 7:40am local time, with the daily Morning Show followed by the firsts Two Rounds of Men’s SUP Surfing and Round 1 of Women’s SUP Surfing.

Here is the schedule for the first day of the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship live webcast:

Monday, 7:40am Peru
Monday, 4:30am West Coast USA
Monday, 1:30pm Western Europe
Monday, 11:30pm Sydney, Australia
Calculate the time for all other areas

Follow all the action live here –

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).