Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

All National Teams Announced For The 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship

The 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship kicks off for the second consecutive year in Venezuela on Saturday with the Opening Ceremony.

The 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship (WBC) will be officially declared open on Saturday. A total of 9 National Delegations have registered to compete in the great waves of Playa Parguito, in the beautiful Margarita Island, Venezuela. The world’s best bodyboarders will compete for the Individual Gold Medals in 5 divisions and the World Team Champion Trophy.

Each National Team consists of seven athletes competing in the following categories: Open Men (3), Open Women (1), Junior Under-18 Boys (1) and Junior Under-18 Girls (1), Open Dropknee (1), plus Team Officials.

The confirmed teams are Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Morocco, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Venezuela.

In attendance at the Official Press Conference were (from left to right) Venezuelan National Team Member Glorialis Oropesa, Gaetano “Nino” Lauro, ISA Technical Director; Antonio Sotillo, Local Organizer and President of the Venezuelan Surfing Federation (FVS); Heli Valero, Venezuelan Team Manager and Vice President of the FVS; and Venezuelan National Team Member Enyer Moncada (not in picture).

The Official Press Conference of the second consecutive ISA WBC was held at Waikiki Restaurant on Thursday, October 10.

In attendance were Gaetano “Nino” Lauro, ISA Technical Director; Antonio Sotillo, Local Organizer and President of the Venezuelan Surfing Federation (FVS); Heli Valero, Venezuelan Team Manager and Vice President of the FVS; and two Venezuelan National Team athletes Enyer Moncada and Glorialis Oropesa.

At the Press Conference, the participants answered different questions from the local media outlets, regarding several details of the event and its different participating National Bodyboarding Teams. Afterwards, everyone in attendance enjoyed cocktails, courtesy of the Schaffer family.

“Last year this event was magnificent. We had the opportunity to see competitors from France, South Africa, Japan and others in action. It was an impressive celebration, and I think that this year is going to be the same. This beach has an amazing beauty and it’s a paradise. The event setup is ready and I’m sure that with the high level of the competitors, we are going to have a great show”, said ISA Technical Director, Nino Lauro.

The President of the Venezuelan Surfing Federation, Antonio Sotillo added “We always wanted to host an ISA World Championship here in Venezuela, it was a dream for the Federation. It was one of the goals set by the Federation to have several international events, and thank God we had the opportunity. We had good results, this year we hope to succeed again and to host an ISA event every year. Thanks also to the ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, for this opportunity.”

The Opening Ceremony is on Saturday, October 12 at 3m (local time), which will feature the ISA’s traditional Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony. This ceremony allows each participating nation to come to the stage waving their national flag while pouring sand from their local beach into a glass container symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

Below is a full list of the confirmed teams:


Gustavo Bartolini (Open Men’s)
Patricio Galay (Open Men’s)
Santiago Ezequiel (Open Men’s)
Santiago Martínez (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Gustavo Bartolini (Dropknee)


Eder Luciano (Open Men’s)
Roberto Bruno (Open Men’s)
Sergio Luis (Open Men’s)
Neymara Carvalho (Open Women’s)
Marcyus Thompson (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Renato Almeida (Dropknee)


Carlos Gallardo (Open Men’s)
Gabriel Brantes (Open Men’s)
Alan Muñoz (Open Men’s)
Giselle Caselli (Open Women’s)
Renato Arellano (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Catalina Hernandez (Junior Under-18 Girls)
Gonzalo Espinoza (Dropknee)

Costa Rica

Reymar Ramirez (Open Men’s)
Oscar Ulate (Open Men’s)
Marlon Sandoval (Open Men’s)
Shamoby Offer (Open Women’s)
Jefferson Bustos (Junior Under-18 Boys)
William Fallas (Dropknee)


Jorge Pulmón (Open Men’s)


Brahim Iddouch (Open Men’s)

Dominican Republic

Pascual Silveri (Open Men’s)
Juan Rivas (Open Men’s)
José Henriquez (Open Men’s and Dropknee)

Puerto Rico

Luz Marie Grande (Open Women’s)


Sergio Alonzo (Open Men’s)
Leoylan Montesinos (Open Men’s)
Enyer Moncada (Open Men’s)
Lumar Guittard (Open Women’s)
Luis Briceño (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Glorialys Oropesa (Junior Under-18 Girls)
Luis Rodríguez (Dropknee)

Follow the live webcast of the 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship at the Official Event Website-

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).