Ten Things You Should Know About the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Billabong ISA World Surfing Games
Punta Hermosa, Peru
October 19 – 27

La Jolla, CA, October 4 – In three weeks, one of the most prestigious surfing events today, the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games, will be underway at Punta Hermosa, Peru from October 19 until 27.

The best surfers from more than 30 countries will meet in the perfect waves of Señoritas and Caballeros to decide the winner of the World Team Gold medal, as well as the ISA World Champions in the Open Men, Open Women and Longboard divisions.

The 10 things you should know about the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games are:

1 – The Games will be held at Punta Hermosa, 35 miles south of Lima. The waves chosen are the perfect left and right-hand pointbreaks of Señoritas and Caballeros.

2 – Ancient Peruvians used to ride waves in reed boats known as “Caballitos de Totora,” around 5000 years ago. Modern surfing in Peru started in the mid 1940s on the beaches of Lima´s region of Barranco. The sport expanded to the neighborhood of Miraflores, where surfing had its major growth during the 1960s with the creation of the Waikiki Surf Club, the foundation of the International Surfing Federation by Peruvian Eduardo Arena, and the 1965 World Championship won by Peruvian Felipe Pomar.

3 – The Billabong ISA World Surfing Games began in 1964 under the name ISF World Championships, and were run by the International Surfing Federation, the first surfing international organization in history. In 1976, the ISF gave way to the ISA. From their beginning and until today, the contestants in these championships traveled to compete as a team, to defend the colors of their countries.

In 1996, a year after the ISA was recognized by the International Olympic Committee, ISA President Fernando Aguerre proposed a name change to the World Surfing Games. He also created the Sands of the World Ceremony and Parade of the Nations to highlight the importance of the union of nations through surfing.

4 – The Billabong ISA World Surfing Games is one of the greatest surfing events in existence. It is undoubtedly the most cosmopolite, with around 200 athletes competing as members of their national surfing teams coming from over thirty countries.

5 – Since 1996, the nations that won the gold medal for their team positioning were the following:

1996 – Huntington Beach, USA: United States
1998 – Carcavelos, Portugal: Australia
2000 – Maracaípe, Brazil: Brazil
2002 – Durban, South Africa: South Africa
2004 – Salinas, Ecuador: Australia
2006 – Huntington Beach, USA: Australia
2008 – Costa de Caparica, Portugal: Australia
2009 – Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica: United States
2010 – Punta Hermosa, Peru: ?

6 – This is the second time in history that Peru will host the event. In 1965 the ISF World Championship was held at Punta Rocas, less than five miles south of this year’s host town of Punta Hermosa. Celebrating the 45th anniversary of the event, the ISA decided to go back to Peru.

The host country has shown in past years an enormous growth, not only in their level of surfing, but also in their institutional infrastructure. This is why, among other reasons, Peru was chosen to host this year’s Billabong ISA World Surfing Games.

7 – The World Champions of the previous edition of the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games that took place in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica, August 2009 are:

Open Men: Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Open Women: Courtney Conlogue (USA)
Longboard: Antoine Delpero (FRA)

8 – The format of the event consists of three divisions, and teams will include eight athletes; four Open Men, two Open Women and two Longboarders. Additionally each team includes Managers, Coaches, other Technical Staff and Supporters.

9 – Following the efforts of the nations to win the Gold medal, the growing presence of the best athletes is once again confirmed. Surfers confirmed to participate include former ASP and ISA World Champion Chelsea Hedges (AUS), the 1998 ISA World Champion and former ASP Word Tour runner up, Mick Campbell (AUS), as well as the 2004 ISA and ASP World Champion, the local star, Sofía Mulanovich.

10 – All the information about the event, including the live webcast will be available at: www.billabongisaworldsurfinggames.com.

For more info:

Jim Kempton
Director of Media
(949) 753-7222 X3363

Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association
Skype: p.a.zanocchi

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).