Posted - News Posted for Costa Rica News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

From August 6-14, Playa Jacó, Costa Rica Will Host the World’s Best National Surfing Teams

From August 6-14, the top National Surfing Teams in the world will flock to Playa Jacó, on the beautiful Pacific Coast of Costa Rica to surf in the name of their nation and go for Gold at the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games.

Here are the ten things you need to know about the competition:

1. The Olympics

On August 3 in Rio just prior to the start of the Olympic Games, the 129th Session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) will take a final vote on whether to include Surfing in the Tokyo 2020 Games. This could potentially make the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games the first major, international Surfing competition to take place with Surfing as an Olympic sport.

2. The Competition

The 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games is an Olympic style team competition that gathers National Delegations from around the world. Each team can field up to four men and two women. The surfers compete for individual medals and the coveted Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy, named for and donated by the ISA President, who was first elected in 1994 and has been reelected eight times since.

3. How to watch online?

The world championship will be streamed live on www.isaworlds.com from August 6-14. Visit the official website for results, photos, videos and news pertaining to the competition.

cri_noe_mcgonagle_nelly_9Noe Mar McGonagle holds the Costa Rican flag high after being crowned the Open Men’s Gold Medalist at the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA / Dave Nelson

4. The Champions

The Champions from the previous three editions of the ISA World Surfing Games are as follows:

Team Gold Medalists
2015 – Costa Rica
2014 – Peru
2013 – South Africa

Open Men Gold Medalists
2015 – Noe Mar McGonagle (CRC)
2014 – Leandro Usuna (ARG)
2013 – Shaun Jobert (RSA)

Open Women Gold Medalists
2015 – Tia Blanco (USA)
2014 – Analí Gomez (PER)
2013 – Dimity Stoyle (AUS)

Both reigning individual Gold Medalists, Tia Blanco (USA) and Noe Mar McGonagle (CRC), will return to represent their respective nations and defend their titles in Costa Rica.

See the full list of ISA World Championship results here: https://www.isasurf.org/events/isa-world-champions/

5. The Venue

Playa Jacó is located on Costa Rica’s Pacific coast about 100 kilometers from the capital of San José. The competition will be held on the north end of Playa Jacó in front of the Best Western hotel, a stretch of beach that offers quality beach break conditions.

The waves at Jacó are better on the dropping and rising tides, which will be taken into account when deciding what time of the day the contest will run.

Fabian Sanchez (4)Playa Jacó will provide plenty of sections and ramps, perfect conditions for the competitors to display their high performance surfing. Photo: Fabian Sanchez

6. The History

The ISA World Surfing Games began in 1964 under the name ISF World Championships, and was run by the International Surfing Federation, the first international surfing organization. In 1976, the ISF became the ISA. From its beginning up to present day, the contestants in the World Championship traveled to compete as a team and represent their respective nations.

The ISA World Surfing Games will return to Costa Rica after the successful edition in 2009, held in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica, which drew tens of thousands of fans from around the globe to watch the world-class surfing.

7. Social Media

The ISA will be posting live updates, photos and videos from the competition on social media. Follow along on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat and don’t forget use the official hashtags #ISAworlds and #ISAWSG.

Facebook: International Surfing Association
Instagram: @ISAsurfing
Snapchat: @ISA_Surfing
Twitter: @ISAsurfing

8. The Schedule

The schedule for the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games will be as follows:

August 6: Official Press Conference in Playa Jacó at 9 am, Opening Ceremony at 10am featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony
August 7-14: Competition
August 14: Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

9. The Mission

Recognized by the IOC as the world governing body for Surfing, the ISA’s mission is to create a better world through Surfing. This is accomplished through annual World Championships, membership development, educational programs, scholarship distribution and working towards Surfing’s inclusion in the Olympic Games.

10. The Support

The 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games has been organized in conjunction by the International Surfing Association, the Costa Rican Surfing Federation and RPM TV. Instituto Nacional de Seguros (INS) has provided tremendous support as the event’s title sponsor. Learn more about INS here: http://www.ins-cr.com/.

Additionally, the Costa Rican government has decreed the world championship a matter of public interest, meaning that the public and private sectors will contribute resources to ensure the successful execution of the event.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).