Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

SUP, Paddleboard Technical Races Plus Team Relay Finalists Decided for ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri

For daily photos, video highlights and video news releases, click here.

HAW_Conner_Baxter_ISA_Bielmann}783All-star SUP paddleboarder, Connor Baxter racing for Team Hawaii in the Men’s SUP Technical Race, where he finished second to qualify for the Final. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The Technical Races and Team Relays began in Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico on Day 6 of the 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddeboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri.

The SUP and Paddleboard Technical Races solidified the competitors that will vie for medals and points in the finals on Sunday. Additionally, 18 National Teams competed in the ISA Team Relay Race Qualifier, and were later narrowed down to 10.

First in the water were the Men’s Paddleboard Racers, broken up into two heats where the top 8 advanced. The top Men’s Paddleboard racer was Kai Hall from Hawaii, completing the course in 27:43.

The Women’s SUP Technical Race followed. The top six of the two, 12-women heats advanced to compete again on Sunday. Candice Appleby showed her superior strength above the rest of the competition with a comfortable lead and finished in first place.

JPN_Takayo_Yokoyama_ISA_Bielmann}765Takayo Yokohama from Team Japan is competing in as many disciplines as possible at the 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship, and she is doing it in stride.
Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The Mexican crowd made their presence known in the SUP Technical Race as Felipe Rodriguez showed his superb local knowledge of the break and utilized uncanny angles as he approached the beach to catch waves that others could not. Felipe Rodriguez finished first before highly touted athletes such as Hawaii’s Connor Baxter, who finished second. The 12 qualifiers from each heat will merge to make for a 24-man SUP Technical Race Final of epic proportions on Sunday.

 MENS_Prone_Race_ISA_Bielmann687-2The world’s best technical paddleboard racers going full speed ahead while competing in the qualifier for a chance to advance to Sunday’s Final. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The day closed with exciting ISA Team Relay Race Qualifying Rounds. In the ISA Team Relay Race each team selects a SUP and Paddleboard racer of each gender to form their roster.

The relay was lead by a dominant performance from Team Australia, including Jordan Mercer, Lachie Lansdown, Terrene Black and Toby Cracknell. The Australian team finished ahead of the New Zealand Team with a time of 15:54. The 10 remaining teams that will contend for the Overall Team Gold Medal including Australia, New Zealand, Hawaii, Spain, France, South Africa, USA, Brazil, Mexico and Canada.

AUS_Relay_Team_ISA_Reed_714Team Australia outperformed the competition in the ISA Team Relay Race for a first place finish.
Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

“Today was all about team effort and support, as the 2015 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship nears the end. The points are now more important than ever. This is the most competitive SUP World Championship ever,” stated ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

Aguerre continued, “Following all the excitement from the competition, we will hold the Closing Ceremony. As each Gold Medal is distributed, National Anthems will be played, country flags will be flown and cheers around the world will be heard. There is no greater pleasure than to have your hard work pay off and no higher honor than to represent your country with pride.

The Final Day will include the Men’s and Women’s Paddleboard Technical Race Finals, Men’s and Women’s SUP Technical Race Finals and the ISA Team Relay Race Final. The stage is set for a grand finale on Sunday.

Tomorrow’s live webcast will begin with the Morning Show at 8:30am local time hosted by Beau Hodge, and will feature the host athletes from Team Mexico.

Sunday, 8:30am Mexico City, Mexico
Sunday, 4:30am Los Angeles, USA
Sunday, 1:30pm Paris, France
Sunday, 9:30pm Sydney, Australia

Tune into the live webcast here.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).