Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

27 National Teams, more than 300 Participants to Gather in Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico to Compete for Gold

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is proud to announce all the teams and athletes, who will be competing in Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico for the 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC) Presented by Hotel Kupuri, which will begin on Sunday, May 10.

Sayulita_lifestyle_isa_bielmann033Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, México will host the best SUP and Paddleboard athletes on the planet as they compete for Medals in the 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The 27 National Teams that have confirmed their participation include Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Great Britain, Hawaii, Holland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tahiti, U.S.A., U.S. Virgin Islands and Venezuela.

More than 300 participants are set to compete in the disciplines of StandUp Paddle (SUP) Surfing, SUP Racing and Paddleboard in both Women’s and Men’s divisions, making this the largest ISA WSUPPC ever.

Freesurf_ISA_Bielmann138New Zealand’s Ollie Houghton warming up for the event at Sayulita’s reef break.
Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

“With great anticipation and excitement, I look forward to the Opening Ceremony on Sunday. Monday, competition will begin featuring the world’s best SUP athletes coming together in the flavorful village of Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico,” commented ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “This is a time for the world to set its sights on Sayulita and experience competition at its highest and most internationally collective level.”

Aguerre proceeded, “SUP Surfing, Racing and Paddleboarding continue to grow at such an amazing rate around the world. These are sports without boundaries and we are proud to continue to offer a platform to showcase that.”

MEX_TeamThe host team, Mexico, is ready to defend their home break and compete against the world’s top athletes. Photo: ISA

In addition to the defending Gold Medalist team of Australia, top athletes will return to protect their own respective titles. Look for the likes of Denmark’s Casper Steinfath the 2013 and 2014 Men’s SUP Technical Race Gold Medalist, plus the undefeated Australian Jordan Mercer in the Paddleboard Long Distance and Technical Races.

There will also be three new teams participating in the World Championship for the first time including the powerhouse of Hawaii as well as U.S. Virgin Islands and Holland.

TeamHawaiiTeam Hawaii will be making their first ever appearance in the World Championship.
Photo: ISA

The Opening Ceremony featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony will commence at 5pm local time. The parade will make its way through the village of Sayulita down the culturally rich streets before culminating on the beach where the competition will take place for the week to follow. Monday will mark the first day of competition.

Watch the entire event including the Opening Ceremony, competition and the Closing Ceremony live via webcast on

Click here to see a full list of registered National Teams and participating athletes:

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).