Team Portugal Determined to Make History Heading into Final Day of 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Team USA wins ISA Aloha Cup, earns first Gold Medal of the competition, Argentina wins Silver, Costa Rica wins Bronze and New Zealand wins Copper

Heading into the Final Day of the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games, Team Portugal has gained the lead, determined to make history by winning their first ISA World Surfing Games Team Gold Medal in history.

With 3981 potential team points, Team Portugal stands in first place ahead of Team Peru (3745), Team France (3308) and Team Costa Rica (3055).

TEAM_POR_CELEBRATING_JIMENEZTeam Portugal celebrates after Pedro Henrique wins in the dying seconds of his Main Event Round 5 heat. Photo: ISA / Jimenez

The first Medal of the competition was awarded in the afternoon in front of a boisterous crowd as USA emerged victorious in the Final of the ISA Aloha Cup. Team Argentina earned the Silver Medal, Team Costa Rica the Bronze Medal and Team New Zealand the Copper Medal.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, commented on the action:

“What an amazing ISA Aloha Cup Final! Team USA has won the first Gold Medal of the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games and the first in the era of Olympic Surfing.

“The energy on the beach was amazing while I watched on the webcast, just a dose of what we will experience tomorrow when the individual and Team Gold Medals are awarded.”

Crowd_Evans36Tens of thousands of Surfing fans came out to witness the world-class level of Surfing at Playa Jacó. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The penultimate day of competition commenced with two heats of Open Men Repechage Round 7. In the opening heat Japanese teammates, Takumi Nakamura (13.46) and Hiroto Arai (16.26), eliminated the local fan favorite Carlos Muñoz from the competition, after he was only able to put together a heat total of 12.50.

The Open Men Round 5 and Open Women Round 4 of the Main Event followed, setting up the Finals heats for the Men and Women. Francisco Bellorin (VEN), Pedro Henrique (POR), Guilherme Fonseca (POR) and Noe Mar McGonagle (CRC) finished in the top two spots in the Open Men’s Semifinal heats and will compete in the Final on Sunday morning.

JPN_HIRITI_ARAI_JIMENEZHiroto Arai (JPN) let’s his fins free, however it was not enough to advance through the Repechage Semifinal. Photo: ISA / Jimenez

On the Women’s side of the competition Tia Blanco (USA), Dominic Barona (ECU), Teresa Bonvalot (POR) and Justine Dupont (FRA) continued their campaigns in the Main Event, where they will compete in the Final on Sunday.

The winners of the Main Event Final will move on to the Grand Final, where they will face off against the top two athletes of the Repechage Final.

The action ensued with the Quarterfinals and Semifinals of the Open Men and Open Women Repechage Rounds as Playa Jacó filled with tens of thousands of spectators to watch the crucial elimination rounds.

Peru’s Lucca Mesinas and Argentina’s Leandro Usuna, the 2014 Men’s Gold Medalist, energized crowd and advanced to the Final, where they await the losers of the Main Event Final.

In a closely contested Open Women Repechage Semifinal, France’s Pauline Ado (12.94) and Peru’s Melanie Giunta (12.87) squeezed into the Repechage Final just ahead of the 2014 Open Women’s Gold Medalist, Peru’s Analí Gomez (12.37), and Portugal’s Carol Henrique (8.97).

To cap off the excitement on Day 7, the ISA Aloha Cup gave the crowd a taste of the ISA’s unique tag team relay event. The ISA Aloha Cup features the top eight teams from the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games, with each team fielding four male surfers and one female, summing up three waves of each to get the teams’ total score.

The winners of Friday’s Semifinal, Team Costa Rica, New Zealand, USA and Argentina, faced off in Saturday’s hour long Final showdown.

Team USA jumped out to an early lead in Final and never looked back. They were closely trailed by Team Argentina, but USA’s team total of 73.49 was not overcome by Argentina’s total of 66.64. Costa Rica and New Zealand finished third and fourth respectively, with scores of 60.81 and 56.28.

USA_TEAM_ALOHA_CUP_JIMENEZTeam USA celebrates after winning the ISA Aloha Cup, the first Gold Medal of the competition and the era of Olympic Surfing. Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

USA’s female surfer in the ISA Aloha Cup Final, Maddie Peterson, expressed her feelings after winning the Gold Medal:

“It’s such an honor to win the first Gold Medal of the event and to represent the USA. Teamwork was the most important thing. We are all so close and connected so it’s definitely a blessing to have them all here.

“We will be cheering on Tia (Blanco) as she goes into the Final tomorrow!”

Surfline, the official forecaster, is predicting a new 3-5 foot Southwest swell to fill in on Finals Day, showing more size throughout the afternoon.

The full Surfline Forecast can be found here:

View the full results from Day 6 of competition here:

The schedule for Day 7 of competition is the following:

  • 9:30am – 9:50am: 1 heat Main Event Open Women Round 5
  • 9:50am – 10:10am: 1 heat Main Event Open Men Round 6
  • 10:10am – 10:30am: 1 heat Repechage Open Women Round 8
  • 10:30am – 10:50am: 1 heat Repechage Open Men Round 10
  • 10:50am – 11:15am: Open Women Grand Final
  • 11:15am – 11:40am: Open Men Grand Final

*Times in local Costa Rica time.

Tune in to watch the live action on

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).