Team Peru Wins 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Tia Blanco (USA) repeats as Women’s Gold Medalist, Leandro Usuna (ARG) wins second Men’s Gold Medal

After eight days of world-class Surfing competition at the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games in Playa Jacó, Costa Rica, Team Peru has emerged victorious and earned the Team Gold Medal and coveted Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy. The Gold Medal was the second for Team Peru in three years, having won the Team Gold Medal at the 2014 ISA World Surfing Games in Peru. Rounding out the Team Medal was Team Portugal with the Silver Medal, Team USA with the Bronze Medal and Team France with the Copper Medal.

_JP_0721Team Peru celebrates after winning the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games, their second title in three years (2014 & 2016). Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, expressed his excitement after watching the Finals on the webcast, unable to attend in person due to a back injury:

“Congratulations to the Team Gold Medalist, Team Peru, and the individual Gold Medalists Tia Blanco and Leandro Usuna. Tia and Leandro will forever be the very first ISA gold medalists of the Olympic Surfing cycle. As all the other ISA competitors, they surfed in true Olympic spirit, for the honor of representing their countries.

“Twenty-seven nations came together from around the world to surf in this history-making ISA World Surfing Games, for a phenomenal week of surfing and team camaraderie. Since 1964, the ISA has been the global surfing stage for all the surfing nations. And this event has been the very first one after the IOC inclusion of Surfing into the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Now all surfers in the world, have the chance of becoming Olympians, the first ever Olympic surfers”.

Tia Blanco (USA) was crowned the Women’s Gold Medalist for the second consecutive year, repeating her 2015 performance at the ISA World Surfing Games in Nicaragua, and Leandro Usuna (ARG) was crowned Men’s Gold Medalist for the second time in three years, after winning the 2014 Men’s Gold Medal in Peru.

_MG_5107USA’s Tia Blanco raises her flag with pride after she wins her second consecutive ISA World Surfing Games Open Women Gold Medal. Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

After a morning that featured the Men and Women Main Event and Repechage Finals, the Open Women Grand Final took to the water in front of thousands at Playa Jacó. USA’s Tia Blanco found her rhythm midway through the Final and found a pair of rides in the 7-point range that gave her a heat total of 14.72. Blanco’s score proved to be just enough to win, as Ecuador’s Dominic Barona (14.67) earned the Silver, France’s Pauline Ado (14.46) earned the Bronze and France’s Justine Dupont (12.33) earned the Copper.

Tia Blanco said:

“I’m over the moon right now! It couldn’t get any better for me. I’ve had a little bit of a rough year so I’m super happy to get this title. I love to represent the USA and so excited to make every one proud at home.”

USA_Tia_Blanco_EvansTia Blanco’s Gold Medal performance helped Team USA win their second consecutive Team Bronze Medal. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The Open Men Grand Final finished off the day, where Leandro “Lele” Usuna the 2014 Gold Medalist in Peru, won his second ISA World Surfing Games Gold Medal with a score of 14.33. Peru’s Lucca Mesinas (12.57) finished with the Silver Medal, Costa Rica’s Noe Mar McGonagle, the 2015 Gold Medalist, with the Bronze Medal and Venezuela’s Francisco Bellorin (9.67) with the Copper Medal.

Leandro Usuna said:

“I’m two-time champion, I can’t believe it! This is the third consecutive Final I’ve made in the past three years. I do this for my country, for my family and everybody who is always there for me. This isn’t about points or money, this is about love for your country and raising your flag. I’m just so happy!”

_MG_5214Leandro Usuna has made the Final in the last three ISA World Surfing Games, winning the Gold Medal twice, in 2014 and 2016. Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

Team Peru had remained among the top of the Team Rankings through the entirety of the competition, trading off the top spot multiple times with Portugal, Costa Rica and France. Their stellar overall team performance proved to be the key to their success, spearheaded by Lucca Mesinas’ individual Silver Medal.

Lucca Mesinas said:

“Unfortunately I couldn’t win my division, but when I heard that Peru was the ISA World Champion, there were no words to describe it! I’m very happy that Peru finished as champion here in Costa Rica.”

Watch previous day’s webcasts of the 2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games here:

View the full event results here:

2016 INS ISA World Surfing Games Individual Results:

Open Men
Gold – Leandro Usuna (ARG)
Silver – Lucca Mesinas (PER)
Bronze – Noe Mar McGonagle (CRC)
Copper – Francisco Bellorin (VEN)

Open Women
Gold – Tia Blanco (USA)
Silver – Dominic Barona (ECU)
Bronze – Pauline Ado (FRA)
Copper – Justine Dupont (FRA)

Team Standings
1 – Gold Medal – Peru (3188)
2 – Silver Medal – Portugal (2924)
3 – Bronze Medal – USA (2860)
4 – Copper Medal – France (2848)
5 – Costa Rica (2785)
6 – Argentina (2725)
7 – Japan (2576)
8 – New Zealand (2179)
9 – Australia (2123)
10 – Ecuador (2078)
11 – South Africa (2058)
12 – Venezuela (2045)
13 – Chile (1860)
14 – Mexico (1703)
15 – Nicaragua (1560)
16 – Panama (1554)
17 – Puerto Rico (1474)
18 – Italy (1350)
19 – Switzerland (1308)
20 – Guatemala (1218)
21 – Canada (1170)
21 – Russia (1170)
23 – Sweden (1158)
24 – Colombia (1050)
25 – Denmark (300)
26 – Uruguay (264)

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).