Surfing to Be Part of the 2011 Pacific Games in New Caledonia

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The Pacific Games’ Surfing tournament will be held at the waves of Ouano, New Caledonia. Photo: Pacific Games

The International Surfing Association is proud to announce that surfing will be included once again in the Pacific Games, to be held in New Caledonia from August 27 until September 10.

The Pacific Games (formerly known as the South Pacific Games) is a multi-sport event, where athletes compete for medals and the honor of defending their nations. Participation is reserved exclusively for countries around the South Pacific. It is held every four years and began in 1963, hosted by Suva, Fiji.

Over 4,300 athletes from 22 nations will take part in the event, competing in the following 26 disciplines: Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Baseball, Basketball, Bodybuilding, Boxing, Canoeing (flatwater), Cricket, Football, Golf, Judo, Karate, Powerlifting, Rugby sevens, Sailing, Shooting, Squash, Surfing, Swimming, Table tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Volleyball and Weightlifting.

The surfing event will take place from August 31 until September 2 in the perfect waves of Ouano. Papua New Guinea, Guam, Fiji, Tahiti, Kiribati, Tonga, Vanuatu and New Caledonia are the countries to compete in the Open Men, Open Women and Longboard divisions, patterned after the ISA World Surfing Games.


“It is great for surfing to be part of the Pacific Games. Surfing surely brings a lot of value to these Games, from an area were surfing originated thousands of years ago. All of the participating countries have great potential to be surfing powerhouses and it is important for us to see the developement of the sport in that part of the world,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “We are glad surfing is of part of another multi-sport event. It is great to see surfers travelling with their National Olympic Teams together with Olympic athletes. We take this as encouragement for our sport as we progress towards our goal of inclusion in the Olympic Games.”


Check all the details of the 2011 Pacific Games on

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).