Surfing South Africa name South African Junior team for the 2014 ISA World Junior Surfing championships in Ecuador

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

Surfing South Africa have selected the 2014 South African Junior team which will compete in the 2014 Vissla ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Ecuador in two months time. The team was finalised after a three day training Camp held in Cape Town on February 9th to 11th.


Nthando Msibi (KZN Central)

The team is made up of eight boys and four girls in the Under 18 and Under 16 age divisions and they will join the 300 athletes from over 30 countries at La Fae Beach in Salinas, Ecuador for the biggest international junior surfing championship in the world in late March.

Six of the team members come from the Western Cape, five are from Kwa ZuluNatal and one is from the Eastern Cape.

In the Under 18 boys division Max Armstrong of Scarborough earns his second cap and is top seed. Armstrong has been named captain of the side. Steffen Burrows of Stellenbosch earns his third cap and is second seed while Shane Sykes of Salt Rock wins his second cap and is third seed. The fourth member of the Under 18 group is Nthando Msibi of Durban, a 2014 ISA Scholarship recipient, who will represent South Africa for the first time. The non travelling reserve is Richard Kidd of Ballito.

2013 South African U17 champion Teal Hogg of Umhlanga gets her first cap as top seed in the Under 18 girls division and is joined by Chanelle Botha of Warner Beach, who wins her third cap. Anoush Zakarian of Melkbosstrand is the official reserve.

Top seed and new cap in the Under 16 boys group is current South African U15 Champion Ethan Fletcher of Hout Bay and another new cap,Adin Masencamp of Strand is the second seed. It is a second cap for third seed Jordy Maree of Kalk Bay while Joshe Faulkner of Pellsrus near Jeffreys Bay, is seeded fourth in the Under 16 group and will surf for South Africa for the first time. Bevan Willis of Umdloti is the official reserve.

Two new caps, Cana Foster of Umdloti and Ruth Armstong of Scarborough are the Under 16 girls representatives with Michelle Verreynne of Victoria Bay the official reserve. Ruth’s brother Max is the captain of the team.

The 2014 South African Junior Surfing Team is as follows:

Under 18 Boys
Max Armstrong : Western Province (captain)
Steffen Burrows : Boland
Shane Sykes : KZN Central
Nthando Msibi : KZN Central

Non travelling reserve – Richard Kidd : KZN Central

Under 18 Girls
Teal Hogg : KZN Central
Chanelle Botha : Southern KZN

Non travelling reserve – Anoush Zakarian : Boland

Under 16 Boys
Ethan Fletcher : Western Province
Adin Masencamp : Boland
Jordan Maree : Western Province
Joshe Faulkner : Eastern Province

Non travelling reserve – Bevan Willis : KZN Central

Under 16 Girls
Cana Foster : KZN Central
Ruth Armstrong : Western Province

Non travelling reserve – Michelle Verreynne : Southern Cape

Team Management
Manager : Isaac February : Western Province
Head Coach : Greg Emslie : Border
Assistant Coach : David Malherbe : Border
Chaperone/Coach : Tasha Mentasti : Boland

The ISA World Junior Surfing Championships is an annual event that was first held in Durban 2003. The South African team placed sixth in the 2013 event in Nicaragua.

Prior to the main event the team will meet New Zealand to contest the annually run ‘SANZ’ Trophy held between the two teams. South Africa dominated the head-to-head match-up up until 2013 when New Zealand pulled off a narrow win in Nicaragua. The two teams use this international “friendly” to fine tune their competitive strategies only days out from the main event. The unique trophy that is up for grabs is made out of a solid pounamu base with paua inlay and a surfboard made out of South African yellow wood.

Further Information
Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and is recognised as such by the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa. South Africa is one of the 79 countries that are members of the International Surfing Association (ISA), which is recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the governing body for the sport worldwide.
For further information on Surfing South Africa or the South African Junior Surfing Team, please contact Robin de Kock, General Manager of Surfing South Africa on 0824541149 or

Surfing South Africa
Go to to find out more about Surfing South Africa and sign up as a free member