Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Excellence in the Water Continued Thursday During Day 4 of 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship
Presented by Hotel Kupuri

For daily photos, video highlights and video news releases, click here.

BRA_Nicole_Pacelli_ISA_Bielmann_editBrazil’s Nicole Pacelli, 2013 ISA SUP Surfing Gold Medalist, advanced through the Main Event Round 3, which puts her in a position to reclaim the Gold Medal on Friday. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The 2015 Men’s and Women’s SUP Surfing Gold Medalists will be decided Friday, May 15 as part of the ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship presented by Hotel Kupuri in Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico.

Thursday’s SUP Surfing competition included Main Event as well as Repechage Rounds. The Repechage Rounds featured 32 men and 17 women, giving athletes a second chance to go for Gold rather being eliminated after losing in any single round.

JPA_Riki_Horikoshi_ISA_Bielmann546Riki Horikoshi from Team Japan cracks the lip at full speed. Horikoshi surfed in today’s Repechage Rounds but will not to advance to tomorrow’s final. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

JPN_ISA_Reed_509Riki Horikoshi from Team Japan cracks the lip at full speed. Horikoshi surfed in today’s Repechage Rounds but will not to advance to tomorrow’s final. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

Denmark’s Casper Steinfath has been doing battle in both SUP Racing and SUP Surfing. After placing 5th in the 20Km SUP Long Distance Race on Wednesday, the Danish athlete returned to competition today but was unfortunately eliminated from SUP Surfing following two Repechage Rounds.

Speaking to ISA’s competition format, Steinfath commented, “The ISA’s double elimination system is really unique because everyone gets to surf more than once even if you have a bad heat, like I did the other day. I think it highlights competition from all over the world giving every country a second chance, and it’s fair game for everyone.”

“Today was about inclusion in competition. We saw 49 athletes return to the water in the Repechage Rounds, giving them a second chance to advance and remain in competition. The advancing athletes have now earned spots in tomorrow’s competition, giving them the chance to continue, even if they lose one round,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “We have the absolute best athletes in the world here, and we want to ensure they all have an extra chance to earn a Gold Medal for their country.”

USA_Sean_Poynter_ISA_Reed_459Sean Poynter, 2013 ISA SUP Surfing Gold Medalist, led the charge for Team USA and will compete for the Gold Medal on Friday when the new ISA SUP Surfing World Champions are decided.
Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

In addition to the Repechage Rounds, Main Event Round 3 took place for both men and women.

USA’s Sean Poynter was the standout competitor for the men with a 15.60 combined heat score. Poynter, the ISA SUP Surfing Gold Medalist in 2013, has shown nothing short of excellence in the water, making critical moves on every wave surfed. The American has become the man to beat in any heat.

For the women, the 2013 ISA SUP Surfing Gold Medalist, Nicole Pacelli from Team Brazil came out with the best score of 14.00 in total. Pacelli is no stranger to competition and proved that with smart surfing, she picked the best waves in her heat and executed perfect wrapping carves in the pocket.

For a full list of results, click here.

TAH_Mauiki_Raioha_ISA_Reed_479Mauiki Raioha surfed with power for Team Tahiti. However, following two Repechage Rounds he fell just short of advancing. Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

Day 5 will begin with the Morning Show at 7:40am hosted by Beau Hodge and will feature Team Hawaii, followed by the competition with:

Here is the schedule for the live webcast on the fifth day of the 2015 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri:

Friday, 7:40am Mexico City, Mexico
Friday, 5:40am Los Angeles, USA
Friday, 2:40pm Paris, France
Friday, 10:40pm Sydney, Australia

Watch the live webcast here.

For direct downloads to media assets click here.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).