Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Race Courses For the 2014 ISA World SUP And Paddleboard Championship In Nicaragua Announced

team_spain_ISA_michael_tweddle2013 ISA WSUPPC Women’s SUP Long Distance Race Copper Medalist, Laura Quetglas from Spain, gets ready to improve her result from last year in Peru. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

The 2014 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC) in Nicaragua continues tomorrow with the SUP, Paddleboard, and Relay Races on Lake Nicaragua. All 27 National Teams have returned to Granada, after the exciting SUP Surfing in La Boquita Beach, for the thrilling racing leg of the ISA WSUPPC.

Training_Day_Nicaragua_Lake_ISA_Rommel_Gonzales_6The world’s best SUPers and Paddleboarders are training hard in preparation for the upcoming races in the 2014 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The Technical, Long Distance and Relay race courses have been announced. Click here to see each course map-


Thursday will begin with The Morning Show at 08:40am hosted by Beau Hodge, ISA World Champion Jamie Mitchell and SUP Racer’s Chris Parker, followed by the competition with:

Paddleboard Technical Race

9:00am – Women Heat #1
9:30am – Men Heat #1
10:00am – Women Heat #2
10:30am – Men Heat #2

SUP Technical Race

11:30am – Women Heat #1
12:00pm – Men Heat #1
12:30pm – Women Heat #2
1:00pm – Men Heat #2

ISA Relay Race

2:00pm ISA Relay #1
2:25pm ISA Relay #2
2:50pm ISA Relay #3

Watch the live webcast on –

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).