Strong Travelsim Team Australia To Defend ISA World SUP Title In Nicaragua

Posted - News Posted for Australia News, World Surfing News.

Source: Surfing Australia

Travelsim Team Australia is strongly tipped to defend its title for a third year with a strong line-up named for the 2104 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Titles in Nicaragua.

To be held from 3-11 May the event will feature more than 20 countries and more than 100 competitors.

Competition will be held in SUP surfing, a 5-6km technical SUP race and a 20km distance race, while in paddleboarding there will be a 5-6km technical race and a 20km distance race.


Kelly Margetts

Travelsim Team Australia has dominated the past two events and is tipped to repeat the effort in Nicaragua with a team loaded with international experience.

Team captain is Currumbin lifeguard Kelly Margetts, who will compete in both the SUP 5-6km race and marathon along with the Sunshine Coast’s Lincoln Dews. Dews won the technical race at last year’s national titles at Currumbin with Margetts second, while they finished third and fourth in the distance race.

Last year’s winner of the Molokai to Oahu SUP race Terrene Black of Toowoon Bay will also contest both the women’s technical race and marathon.

In the SUP surfing, Gold Coast’s Jackson Close and Justin Holland from Kingscliff will contest the men’s, and the Gold Coast’s Shakira Westdorp will surf in the women’s event. Close and Westdorp won last year’s national titles, while Holland was second at the nationals and finished eighth in the stand-up world tour.

Three-time Molokai to Oahu paddleboard winner Jordan Mercer, of the Sunshine Coast, will defend her prone paddleboard titles in both technical and distance races, while another current Molokai to Oahu paddleboard winner Brad Gaul, from Sydney, and the Sunshine Coast’s Rhys Burrows will compete in both men’s paddleboard races.

Several competitors including Karla Gilbert, Angie Jackson, Jake Jensen and Beau O’Brian were unavailable for selection.

Travelsim Team Australia:

SUP Racing Men
Kelly Margetts (QLD – Technical and Distance Race)
Lincoln Dews (QLD – Technical and Distance Race)

SUP Racing Women
Terrene Black (NSW – Technical and Distance Race)

SUP Surfing Men
Jackson Close (QLD)
Justin Holland (NSW)

SUP Surfing Women
Shakira Westdorp (QLD)

Prone Men
Brad Gaul (NSW- Technical and Distance Race)
Rhys Burrows (QLD- Technical and Distance Race)

Prone Women
Jordan Mercer (QLD – Technical and Distance Race)

Surfing Australia would like to recognise the Australian Sports Commission and Travelsim for their continuing support of the Team Australia Program.

For regular updates and happenings, become a fan of our Facebook page here.