Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Another Beautiful Sunny Day in Montañita With Challenging Surf Conditions

The world’s best over 35 year old Men and Women surfers put on incredible performances during Day 3 of the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship on the perfect right hand point-break waves in Montañita, Ecuador.

It was a beautiful sunny day in the South American country that sits right on the equator, with the gorgeous Galapagos Islands offshore. Surf conditions were challenging with a slight drop in swell to about 3-4 feet with occasional head-high sets. The tides were extreme, with an early morning low tide, which made for strategic surfing as the waves were breaking in sections, and not the long walls the surfers had become accustomed to over previous days.

Brazil’s Andrea Lopes dominated her heat during Day 3 advancing to the Women’s Masters semifinals. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

The surfers had to be in the right position to stay in the most critical parts of the wave and get the best results possible.

“It was a very nice day in this paradise that is Montañita,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The top 150 surfers over 35 years old are here with over 20 World Champions, current and past. A bad day of competition here is better than the best day in most places in the world. So, if you are not watching the live webcast you are missing out.”

Today, even though it was a shorter day of competition, it was action packed. Day Three featured heats from every division, starting with the Qualifying Round 2 of the Kahunas, Grand Kahunas, and Women’s Masters, followed by Repechage Round 2 of the Grand Masters and Masters. Unfortunately, all the surfers that did not advance in the Repechage rounds are now out of the competition.


One of the standouts of the day was Brazil’s Andrea Lopes, who successfully advanced into the Qualifying Semifinals with a total heat score of 13.50, defeating Siri Cota (USA, 7.93), Maria Celia Barboza (URU, 6.63) and Akiko Kiyonaga (JPN, 6.40).

Another notable surfer of the day was Hawaii’s Mike Latronic, who scored the day’s highest total heat score with 15.16 points, defeating Sergio Noronha (BRA, 7.30), Robert Ferrer (PRC, 5.27) and Horacio Ipucha (ARG, 3.53).

Brazil’s Saul Carvalho had the wave of the day, earning the highest single wave score of 9.53, which led him to win his Repechage Round 2 heat, defeating Kris Cabezas  (CHI, 8.63) and Paulo Viales (CRC, 7.14).

The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship resumes tomorrow at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Otto Flores, which will be broadcast live on the internet at

Following that, the competition will feature:

Grand Masters (over 40) Repechage 3
Kahunas (over 45) Repechage 2
Masters (over 35) Repechage 3
Grand Kahunas (over 50) Repechage 1
Women’s Masters (over 35) Repechage 1
Grand Masters (over 40) Qualifying 3
Kahunas (over 45) Repechage 3

The live webcast of the entire championship is available on

beginning at the following times:

Sunday, 7:40am Montañita, Ecuador
Sunday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Sunday, 2:40pm Western Europe
Sunday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).