Statement from ISA President Fernando Aguerre following IOC Announcement Regarding 2024 and 2028 Olympic Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

“Following the IOC’s announcement regarding the hosting of the 2024 and 2028 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the International Surfing Association wishes to congratulate the cities of Paris and Los Angeles.

“We are stoked that these amazing cities will host the next two editions and I’m sure they will both be fantastic celebrations of sport that will help the Games and the Olympic Movement enjoy a wonderful and prosperous future.

“Both cities and countries have a rich culture and tradition in surfing.  As the IOC, the 2024 and 2028 hosts continue to explore ways to enrich their sport programmes, we look forward to sharing the same elements of youth, lifestyle and performance that lead to Surfing’s inclusion in Tokyo 2020.”

ISA President
Fernando Aguerre

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).