Sportzone ISA World Bodyboard Championship to Start Tomorrow

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The world’s best bodyboarders from 21 countries are set to compete in the Canary Islands

Follow the action live at www.sportzoneisabodyboard.com

Sportzone ISA World Bodyboarding Championship
Galdar, Gran Canaria, Spain
November 28, 2011

The world’s biggest bodyboarding team event will kick off tomorrow in Galdar with the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony. The Sportzone ISA World Bodyboard Surfing Championship will feature the discipline’s best athletes from 21 countries.

Everything’s set to start in one of the two possible locations of La Guancha and the infamous barrels of El Frontón. The teams, already on-site and ready to compete, are: Portugal, France, Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Morocco, South Africa, Cape Verde, Peru, Chile, Mexico, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Colombia, Guatemala, Argentina, Canada, Australia, Japan and the host, Spain.

“We have a good team and I’m really happy to be part of this event,” said 2010 IBA World Champion, Amaury Lavernhe (REU), who has been training on-site for the last few days. “I don’t think I’m a favorite, since there are so many great riders here like Yeray Martinez (SPA), Diego Cabrera (SPA), Jarred Houston (RSA) and Pierre Louis Costes (FRA) among others. We have a good team and the waves are perfect, so I’m stoked. I would like to thank all Canary locals for sharing this amazing spot with us.”

This is the 12th time for the ISA to crown a World Bodyboard Champion. First ISA Gold Medalist of the discipline was USA’s Chris Cunninghan, crowned in Puerto Rico, 1988. This is, however, the first bodyboard only team-event in history, with nations from all over the world, and with the Team Trophy as the top prize.

Starting tomorrow, teams consisting of two Open Men, one Open Women, one Under 18 Men and one Drop Knee, will compete for the glory in the Sportzone ISA World Bodyboard Championship.

Follow the action live at www.sportzoneisabodyboard.com

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).