Sportzone ISA World Bodyboard Championship Ends Tomorrow at El Frontón

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

New ISA Junior World Bodyboard Champion, local Eduardo Rodriguez (SPA) was the standout of the event posting a combined score of 18.33 (9.50+8.83) to win the Gold. Photo: WBC

Drop-Knee, Women and Junior ISA World Bodyboard Champions Crowned on Saturday. Isabela Souza (BRA), Eduardo Rodríguez (SPA) and Ardiel Jiménez are the new ISA World Champions

The event ends tomorrow, Sunday, December 4, with the crowning of the Open and the Team World Champion

Follow the action live at

Sportzone ISA World Bodyboarding Championship
Galdar, Gran Canaria, Spain
December 3, 2011

Isabela Souza (BRA) in Open Women, Eduardo Rodríguez (SPA) in Junior and Ardiel Jiménez (SPA) in Drop-Knee today won the Gold Medals in the 2011 Sportzone ISA World Bodyboard Championship. The event is taking place in Galdar, Gran Canaria, Spain, and will come to an end tomorrow with the crowning of the Open Men and Team Champions.

After two days of amazing waves in El Frontón, the event relocated in La Guancha where the waves broke with contestable 3 to 4 feet surf. With two golds now in its pocket, the local Spanish team made it to the top of the partial ratings and lead to the final day as favorites to win the Team Gold.

With one day to go, the top 5 countries are:
1. Spain – 6195 points
2. France – 5860 points
3. Portugal – 5643 points
4. Chile – 5583 points
5. Japan – 5195 points

Today’s first final saw 2010 IBA World Champion and event favorite, Isabela Sousa (BRA), winning over Anne Cécile Lacoste (FRA, second), Alexandra Rinder (GER, third) and Ruth Parra (VEN, fourth).

The most exciting heat of the day was the Junior final, with local Eduardo Rodríguez leaving the rest of the heat needing a combination of scores after lighting up his heat with different repertoires of aereal moves. Anass Haddar (MOR) placed second, Oliver Rinder (GER), third and Matías Díaz (CHI) fourth.

On the Drop-Knee, a great barrel gave local Ardiel Jiménez an excelent score and the victory. South African Dylan Van Tonder placed second, Portuguese Luis Pereira third and French Amaury Lavernhe fourth.
The Open Final will be held tomorrow with everyone anticipating a great display. The competition will move back again to El Frontón.

Dont miss the live webcast here

Partial Team Standings
1 Spain 6195 Points
2 France 5860 Points
3 Portugal 5643 Points
4 Chile 5583 Points
5 Japan 5195 Points
6 Australia 5173 Points
7 Morocco 4610 Points
8 Peru 4470 Points
9 Brazil 4426 Points
10 Puerto Rico 4418 Points
11 South Africa 4410 Points
12 Venezuela 4370 Points
13 Great Britain 4068 Points
14 Germany 3350 Points
15 Ireland 2695 Points
16 Aruba 2365 Points
17 Mexico 2328 Points
18 Italy 2090 Points
19 Israel 1963 Points
20 Cape Verde 1793 Points

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).