South African Team for the 2016 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship in La Jolla, California announced

Posted - News Posted for Adaptive Surfing, South Africa News, World Surfing News.

Adaptive Surfing SA

The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa have confirmed the names of the surfers who have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship which will take place in La Jolla, San Diego, California from December 8th to 11th.

The team members will compete in five categories. 2015 silver medalist Antony Smyth (Western Cape) and J.P Veaudry (Eastern Cape) will both compete in the Stand Up 1 division for the second year in a row and their 2015 teammate Dries Millard (Western Cape) will represent South Africa in the Prone AS-4 Division.

The four new caps in the team are Caleb Swanepoel (Western Cape) and Leslie Lee (Eastern Cape) who will compete in the Stand Up 2 group, Ashtan Davids (Western Cape) who is in the Prone AS -5 division and Erryn Geddie (KZN) who represents South Africa in the Visually Impaired category. The two non traveling reserves are Albert Rust (Gauteng) and Daniel Nel (Western Cape).

Bev Smyth and Tasha Mentasti (both Western Cape) have been appointed as Manager and Coach respectively and for the second year in a row, Surfing South Africa Vice President and Internationally ranked official Bongani Xulu has been appointed as one of the judges for the event by the International Surfing Association.

The recent Triggerfish Animation SA Adaptive Surfing Championships at Muizenberg in the Western Cape gave the selectors a chance to decide who should represent the country at this unique International event and now that the team has been announced the hard work of raising the funds required to travel to the USA begins in earnest. Each team member is required to pay their own way to the event and while Adapted Surfing South Africa and the national body, Surfing South Africa are hoping to be able to assist with some of the expenses, each team member will be looking to raise about R25000 each.

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are chosen by the National Selectors and in terms of the SSA Constitution. All national teams are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa prior to being forwarded to SASCOC for colours approval.