South African Stand-Up Paddling & Prone Paddleboard team departs for 4th ISA SUP World Champs in Mexico tomorrow

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

The South African Stand Up Paddling & Prone Paddleboard team departs for Sayulita, Mexico tomorrow ( Monday May 4th ) to take on the world’s best at the 4th Edition of the ISA World SUP Championships.

In previous events South Africa won a bronze medal in 2012 and silver in 2013 in the overall team event.

image002Members of the 2015 South African SUP Team working hard at a recent Team Training Camp. Photo: Melissa Clark

Australia, USA and France along with hosts Mexico and South Africa are also seen as contenders for a podium position while he late entry of the Hawaiian team will put added pressure on the favourites.

The ISA World SUP Championships encompasses two disciplines, namely Stand up Paddleboarding which includes wave riding and technical racing both in and out of the surf as well as an 18km long distance race. Prone paddling is the other discipline included in the event.

On the individual front, seasoned campaigner Justin Bing will be searching for that elusive final, after making it to the semi’s three years running. He is joined by Tom and Tarryn King who have produced outstanding results at home as well as in California at the end of last year.

World Junior SUP racing champions Dylan Frick and Ethan Koopmans have stepped up into the Open division and are ready for the big names in world SUP.

Joining them in the racing are young guns Mishka Steyn, Wade Keet and Joshua Robertson while the two prone paddlers, Jayden Alfred-Loots and Anna Notten boast multiple national titles. Notten has won silver medals at the ISA World Championships on two previous occasions and is hoping to celebrate a hat trick with gold.

The names of all the members of the 2015 South African SUP team are as follows:


SUP surfing

Justin Bing:Durban, Kwazulu – Natal

Thomas King: Tokai, Western Cape

Tarryn Kyte: Tokai, Western Cape


SUP racing

Dylan Frick:Gordons Bay, Western Cape

Ethan Koopmans:Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Wade Keet: Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Joshua Robertson: Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Mishka Steyn: Strand, Western Cape


Prone paddleboard racing

Ryan Butcher:Durban, Kwazulu – Natal

Jayden Loots: Cape Town, Western Cape

Anna Notten: Kalk Bay, Western Cape


Team management

Candace van Rooyen (Western Cape) : Manager

Gary van Rooyen (Western Cape) : Coach

James Raaff  (Western Cape) : Medical Support


Watch the live streaming of the event from May 10 – 17  at and clicking on the ISA World SUP Championships link.

For further information on SUPSA and the national SUP team contact Bruce Johnston on