South African Junior Team for the 2016 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in the Azores announced by Surfing South Africa

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa have confirmed the names of the surfers who have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Sao Miguel, Azores Islands, Portugal from September 17th – 25th.

Joshe_Faulkner_RSA_Barrel_ISA_SeanEvans (1)Joshe Faulkner, pictured pulling into a tube at Oceanside Pier during the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, will represent his country again in the Azores in 2016. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The team U18 Boys Team members are Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay), Adin Masencamp (Strand), Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) and Bevan Willis (Salt Rock) with Ford Van Jaarsveldt (Kommetjie) the non traveling reserve. The U18 Girls are Crystal Hulett (Cape St Francis) and Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) with Taghiti Gericke (Wilderness), the non traveling reserve.

The Under 16 Boys are Max Elkington (Kommetjie), Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay), Sebastian Williams (Durban) and Koby Oberholzer (Warner Beach) with Eli Beukes (Kommetjie) the non traveling reserve. The U16 Girls team is Kirsty Mc Gillivray (Jeffreys Bay) and Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay). Olivia Izzard (La Lucia) is the non traveling reserve.

Karen Elkington is the Team Manager and the Coaches are Dave Malherbe and Chris Bond.
Close to 300 surfers from over 30 countries are expected to participate in this popular ISA event which will determine the ISA World Junior Team champions as well as the U18 & U16 Boys and Girls individual championship titles.

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are chosen by the National Selectors and in terms of the SSA Constitution. All national teams are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa prior to being forwarded to SASCOC for colours approval.