ISA Offers Solidarity Fund for National Federations Impacted by COVID-19

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce the creation of a solidarity fund to support member National Federations that have been severely impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Surfers from 55 nations unite at the Opening Ceremony of the 2019 World Surfing Games.

Surfers from 55 nations unite at the Opening Ceremony of the 2019 World Surfing Games. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The ISA’s 108 National Federations have been encouraged to apply for financial support to fund projects that include distributing provisions of essential items such as food or medical supplies, supporting community uplift programs, supplementing severe loss of income of an athlete or surfing community member, or waiving membership fees. 

The application period closes August 31 and the ISA will distribute the funds by the end of September. 

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“To stand by our mission to make ‘A Better World Through Surfing,’ it’s more important than ever to help those who are most in need during this global crisis. We have limited resources ourselves, but want our global community to know that we support them in these difficult times. 

“Throughout the pandemic we have witnessed inspiring actions taken by surfers all around the globe showing kindness, leadership, care, and inclusion. It is encouraging to see positivity in such dark times and we want to continue uplifting and empowering our community around the world.

“Together as a community, we are stronger, and I know that through camaraderie and care for one another we will make it through to the other side of the pandemic.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).