Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The World’s Best Bodyboarders, From The 9 Participating Countries, Took On The Great Surf Conditions In Playa Parguito

Day 1 of the ISA World Bodyboard Championship (WBC) took place Sunday, October 13, with great waves and incredible performances in Playa Parguito, in the beautiful Margarita Island, Venezuela. On the opening day of competition, high level maneuvers were on display on the critical and heavy 4-5 foot beach-break waves of Playa Parguito.

Brazilian Eder Luciano, last year’s Gold Medalist, was one of the standouts of the day, advancing in first place in his Round 1 and 2 heats, earning scores of 15.75 and 14.30 respectively

The waves of Playa Parguito allowed the world’s best bodyboarders to effectively execute a variety of maneuvers including backflips, 360º’s, rollo and 360º rollos. Each competitor had to wisely chose their waves with strategy, due to the tricky conditions and strong current.

The opening day of competition featured Round 1 and 2 of Qualifying Open Men’s, plus Round 1 of Qualifying Open Women’s, Junior U-18 Boys and Dropknee, for an action-packed day.

In the Open Men’s, the Brazilian Eder Luciano, last year’s Gold Medalist, was one of the standouts of the day, advancing in first place in his Round 1 and 2 heats, earning scores of 15.75 and 14.30 respectively.

The most exciting part of the day, in the same category, was the duel between the Moroccan Brahim Iddouch and the local Venezuelan, Sergio Alonso. These two athletes were in the final of the second to last stop of the IBA (International Bodyboard Association) contest held prior to the ISA WBC. In a high scoring heat, the Venezuelan, demonstrating excellent skills, narrowly defeated the Moroccan, earning an impressive 16.90 against Iddouch’s 16.80.

Dropknee also had amazing performances in the 4-5 foot beach-break waves of Playa Parguito during Day 1 of the ISA World Bodyboard Championship. Photo: ISA/Fernando Rivero

In the Open Women’s, the best score of the day was achieved by the 5-Time World Champion, Neymara Carvalho. The talented Brazilian used a repertoire of her best maneuvers to sum a total score of 11.75, taking the first position in her heat, defeating the only Puerto Rican competitor, Luz Marie Grande, with a score of 10.25.

In Junior U-18 Boys, a close fight for first position was held between Brazil’s Marcyus Thompson and Venezuela’s Luis Briceño, showing great level of bodyboarding in their maneuvers. At the end of the heat, Thompson earned the first position with a total heat score of 13.00.

In Dropknee, Chile’s Renato Arellano, along with another Venezuelan Luis Rodríguez, had great performances in their respective heats, with scores of 14.00 and 12.75 respectively, both advancing in first place.

The 2013 ISA WBC is a double elimination competition, with the first and second place bodyboarders always advance to the next Qualifying Round. Athletes in third and fourth place move into the Repechage Round, giving them a second chance to advance. However, another third or fourth place finish, and they will be out of the competition

For a full list of today’s results, click here: http://www.isawbc.com/results.

The 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship resumes Tuesday at 9:00am (local time) in Playa Parguito.

Competition will feature:

9:00am Open Men’s – Repechage 1
10:00am Open Women’s – Qualify 2
10:20am Junior U-18 Boys – Qualify 2
10:40am Open Men’s – Qualify 3
11:20am Dropknee – Qualify 2
11:40am Junior U-18 Girls – Qualify 1
12:00pm Open Men’s – Repechage 2

The live webcast of the entire 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is available on www.isawbc.com

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).