Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club win the 2015 Billabong SA Interclub Championships

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

The Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club, who were coached by the legendary duo of Graham Hynes and Ant Brodowicz and comprised former SA Champion Shaun Payne, current National Team member Faye Zoetmulder, her brother Donovan as well as Cody Futeran and Dylan Stevens, celebrated their first appearance in a National Interclub tournament with a victory when they posted 168.1 points in the final of the 2015 Billabong SA Interclub Championships at Kitchen Windows in Jeffrey’s Bay yesterday (Sunday February 15th).


 A disappointed CYOH Surf Club of Port Elizabeth scored 150,2 points to take second spot while 2013 champions, the J Bay Boardriders posted 133,0 points to finish third. The defending champions, JBU Surf Club had to settle for fourth place after scoring 109,9 points in the final.

The defeated semi finalists were the Natural Energy Surf Club and the UCT Surf Club. A record fifteen teams representing thirteen clubs participated in the third annual National Interclub Surfing Championships.

Tough weather and strong winds made the first day of competition difficult and event officials made the decision to call a halt to competition on Day One after the first four heats and although the weather improved on Day Two, strong winds made 2 – 3 foot surf difficult to handle throughout the day.


 At the Award ceremony held on the beach at Kitchen Windows, Surfing South Africa Vice President Johnny Bakker presented the South African Interclub Trophy and gold, silver, bronze and copper medals to the team members of the teams that reached the finals.

The event was hosted by the JBU Surf Club, who exercised their right to host the tournament in Jeffreys Bay. Seal Point Boardriders now have the right to chose a venue for next year’s tournament which will be held on February 13th & 14th.The full results of the tournament and pictures are available on

The 2014 Billabong Interclub Championships is a Surfing South Africa event made possible by the support received from Sport and Recreation South Africa.

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). SSA is the governing body for all surf riding in South Africa and is recognized as such by Sport and Recreation South Africa.