Posted - News Posted for ISA News, Mexico News, World Surfing News.

Elite International Field Of Competitors Announced

The official start of the 2015 ISA World Championship Series is rapidly approaching with the opening event to be held in the quaint, coastal village of Sayulita, Mexico. The 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC) will make history as the first ISA SUP World Championship to ever take place in Mexico.


Official poster of the 2015 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship. 

The competition is heating up as nations announce their rosters. Notably, Hawaii is making their first appearance at the ISA WSUPPC. Australia, who has won the Gold Medal in all three years of the contest, will return in 2015 to defend their title. Other nations, such as USA, South Africa, Spain, France, and New Zealand, have announced their teams, looking for a Gold Medal of their own.

From May 10 to the 17, Sayulita will become the epicenter of StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard, receiving the top athletes on the planet. The competitors will have the opportunity to showcase their talents while having the honor of representing their respective nations as they battle for the Gold Medals.

men_sup_tech03_ISA_michael_tweddle_54 (small)Athletes race for their countries during the 2014 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweedle

Team Hawaii has thrust their name into Gold Medal contention in large part due to the inclusion of powerhouse SUP racer Connor Baxter. Baxter has a long list of prestigious SUP accomplishments, such as winning the renowned Molokai 2 Oahu Paddleboard Race three times, and will look to win his first ISA Gold Medal. Further strengthening Team Hawaii are Zane Schweitzer and Mo Freitas. See full team here

Connor-Baxter-Stand-Up-Paddling-645x430Connor Baxter will lead the charge for Team Hawaii in their first ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship. Photo: The Ultimate Waterman

As the defending Team Champion, Australia will face the toughest competition to date. However, they will be bringing back strong performers from the 2014 contest in Nicaragua including: Jackson Close, Jordan Mercer, and Beau Nixon, which will give them a solid chance to keep the Gold Medal down under. See full team here

teamaustralia_1428569539[5]Australia accepting their Gold Medal and Team Champion Trophy at the 2014 ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Nipping on the heels of Australia will be 2014 Team Silver Medalist USA, who has made some key additions to their roster and have their sights set on the Team Gold Medal as well. USA added top athletes Danny Ching, Candice Appleby, and Izzi Gomez to an already strong group of ISA World Championship veterans. See full team here

closing_ceremony_usa_team_silver_ISA_michael_tweddle_32Silver Medal Team USA on the podium at the 2014 ISA WSUPPC.
Photo: ISA/Michael Tweedle

Demonstrating the growth of SUP and Paddleboard worldwide, new teams have confirmed their participation at the 2015 ISA WSUPPC for the first time. Joining Hawaii as newcomers will be Holland and the US Virgin Islands.

“As SUP continues to evolve as one of the fastest growing sports in the world, we are excited that Mexico will host this year’s World Championship in beautiful Sayulita,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “It’s great to see the sport reach new heights with the increased level of competition and the addition of new countries proving the sport’s universality. This ISA World Championship is rapidly growing and the elite athletes globally want to be a part of it.”

The traditional Opening Ceremony for the ISA WSUPPC will commence on May 10th in the town of Sayulita, Mexico, which will feature the traditional Parade of Nations and Sands of the World ceremonies. The competition will begin on the 11th, with the finals, crowning of Individual and Team Champions, and Closing Ceremony on the 17th.

Follow all the action on where you will be able to watch the live webcast starting on May 10th.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).