SA World Championship Nominated for Event Excellence

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Piha Beach, New Zealand, was the perfect scenario for the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship nominated by SPARC for Event Excellence. Photo: ISA/CPL

The 2010 edition of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship nominated for prestigious sports award in New Zealand

On February 24, the 2010 edition of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship was nominated for “Event Excellence” by Sport and Recreation New Zealand (SPARC), the national government entity responsible for promoting, encouraging and supporting sport and physical recreation in New Zealand.

The prestigious event for junior surfers from around the world was chosen by the leading sport organization in the country out of all the sport events held in New Zealand in 2010. The ISA surfing event was chosen along with the 2010 FIS Freestyle and Snowboard Junior World Championship and the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup as part of SPARC’s Sport and Recreation Awards.

The 2010 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship was held in Piha Beach from January 20 to 28. The event was organized by Surfing New Zealand (the country’s National Governing Body) and sanctioned by the International Surfing Association. More than 180 surfers from 21 countries participated for team and individual medals.

Australia’s surfing superiority was shown again, as they claimed the team gold medal for the fifth year in a row. Tyler Wright and Matt Banting from Australia won the gold in the Women Under 18 and Boys Under 16 divisions, while Brazilian Gabriel Medina claimed the gold in Boys Under 18.

The SPARC Award winners will be announced on April 18, 2011 at the New Zealand Sport and Recreation Awards Dinner.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).