Posted - News Posted for Chile News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

Athletes Await Solid Swell Forecasted to Hit Iquique, Chile for the Week of Competition

A total of 14 countries and 69 athletes have been confirmed to participate in the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship from December 6-13 in the wave-rich city of Iquique in Northern Chile.

CHILE_MAURO_VIVANCO_JIMENEZIquique has been providing fun-sized surf for the athletes to warm up for the competition, however much larger waves are on the horizon. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

The powerful teams that have gathered in Iquique are looking forward to the week of competition to come, as a solid swell is forecasted to hit Chile and maintain its strength throughout the week of competition.

The confirmed countries that will compete are Australia, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain and Venezuela. Each team will field up to seven athletes to compete in the following divisions: Open Men (3 athletes), Open Women (1), Junior U-18 Boys (1), Junior U-18 Girls (1) and Open Dropknee (1).

Team_Chile_Jimenez-2The 2014 Team Gold Medalist, Chile, will defend their title in their local waves. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

The 2014 Team Gold Medalist, Chile, will return five of the seven athletes that contributed to the 2014 Gold Medal performance, including the reigning Boys U-18 Junior Gold Medalist, Yoshua Toledo and the Girls U-18 Junior Silver Medalist, Anaís Velis. Keeping much of their 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Champion Team intact, Chile will strive to defend their Gold Medal and keep the title in the host country. However, 2014’s runner-up, France, along with Japan and Australia, who did not compete in 2014, have assembled strong rosters to vie for a Gold Medal of their own.

CHILE_ALEXANDER_WITTMANN__JIMENEZ-2-2The Iquique locals show the visiting Nations that they know the reefs of Iquique better than anyone. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, commented on the upcoming competition.

“With swell on the way, I am ecstatic to know that the best bodyboarders in the world will have the greatest opportunity to showcase their skills on an international stage in the world-class waves of Iquique.

“Monday’s Opening Ceremony will be an incredible spectacle as all the countries parade through the picturesque streets of Iquique displaying their national pride.”

On Monday, December 7, the Opening Ceremony will kick off the competition with the Parade of Nation and Sands of the World Ceremony. In the Parades of Nations, the 14 National Delegations will parade down the streets of Iquique waving their national flags. The Parade will end at Plaza Arturo Prat where the Opening Ceremony will take place. Each country will take to the stage in the plaza pouring sand from their local beaches into a container during the Sands of the World Ceremony, symbolizing the peaceful gathering nations of the world through surfing.

Free_Surf_SeanEvans_7 Bodyboarders scan the horizon for the next set at la Punta 1 in Iquique. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

The schedule for the week of competition will be as follows:

  • Tuesday, December 8- Sunday, December 13 from 8am-5pm – Competition at La Punta 1
  • Sunday, December 13 – Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

For live action, photos, videos, news and event info, visit: www.ISAworlds.com





About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).