Playa Venao Will Be Home to the World’s Best Juniors in 2012

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The perfect and warm barrels of Playa Venao, in Panama, will host the largest junior surf competition in the world in April 2012. Pictured above, Ian Gouveia (BRA) enjoys a Playa Venao gem. Photo: ISA/Watts

The location, in Panama, of the largest junior surf competition in the world has been selected

ISA World Junior Surfing Championship presented by Panama
April 14 to 22, 2012
Playa Venao, Panama

The perfect waves of Playa Venao will be the venue for the 2012 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship. After an extensive investigation that took into consideration wave quality, infrastructure and accommodations, the ISA along with local organizer, Surf Box, has concluded that this surfing paradise is the ideal location for the 10th edition of the event.

Nearly 300 of the world’s best juniors from 35 countries will meet in Panama for the largest and most important global junior surf competition in the world. This event has become the greatest indicator of tomorrow’s surfing elite, and the path for the ISA Junior Champions to the world pro tour.

“Waves are perfect in Venao during the month of April. We also expect the weather to be impeccable since we’re going to be in the dry season,” said event organizer and respected local surfer, Patrick Castagnet. “What makes next year special is that, due in part to the immense popularity of this year’s Billabong ISA World Surfing Games and its impact on the surfing tourism in the region, new accommodation facilities have been built on the beach at Playa Venao. For the first time, in 2012 half of the teams will be able to stay on the beach, right in front of the waves. We’re looking forward to another great event with the world’s greatest surfers in the beautiful waves of Playa Venao.”

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, stated, “I missed this year’s ISA World Surfing Games in Venao, but from what I saw on the webcast, the place is amazing. I’m really excited to be part of the event next year and to witness the best Under 18 surfing action across the globe. Panama is a great surfing destination as proven in 2010 by the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship, in 2011 by the ISA World Surfing Games and I’m sure the 2012 World Junior Surfing Championship will be even better.”

Panama has consistent waves all year long, both along the Pacific and the Atlantic coasts. The warm tropical climate and friendly people make it a perfect destination for this highly competitive surfing event, which will feature the best Under 18 Boys, Under 16 Boys and Under 18 Girls in the world.

Previous ISA World Junior Surfing Championship competitors include: Jordy Smith (RSA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Owen Wright (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson André (BRA) and Gabriel Medina (BRA) in the Boys divisions; and Carissa Moore (HAW, 2011 ASP Women’s World Champion), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS, 4x ASP Women’s World Champion), Coco Ho (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Alana Blanchard (HAW), Tyler Wright (AUS) and Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) in the Girls division.

Everything’s set for the largest junior surf competition in the world to begin on April 14 at Panama’s Playa Venao. The event will be webcast live; check for updates.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).