Peru’s Rich Surfing History is Key to the Success of the Inaugural ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship at Miraflores

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Two ISA eras together at the legendary Waikiki Surf Club: ISA President Fernando Aguerre and ISA first President, Eduardo Arena. Photo: ISA

The Impact of Legendary Peruvian Surfers Affected Surfing and the ISA

ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship
February 19 to 25, 2012
Miraflores, Lima, Peru

Though Hawaii may lay claim to the roots of surfing and the first ambassador of surfing, Peru also has its place in early surf history. One of Peru’s own, Carlos Dogny, honed his skills surfing alongside Duke Kahanamoku, and even brought one of Duke’s boards back to Peru – one of the first true surfboards to appear in the country. While Duke is known as “the father of modern surfing,” Dogny holds the Peruvian version of that title. In 1942, Dogny founded Club Waikiki on the beaches of Miraflores, Lima, and from that day, surfing became a permanent fixture in the country.

Many great Peruvian surfers followed in Dogny’s footsteps, including Eduardo Arena and Hector Velarde, who both have some influence on the upcoming inaugural ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship.

“The deep and rich surfing history of Peru is part of why we felt it was the right host for this inaugural event,” said ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, who is also an honorary member of the Club Waikiki Surf Club. “What makes this sport beautiful is the way it celebrates and honors the past, but at the same time, it is always evolving and constantly innovating.”

Velarde, who was born and raised in Lima and was the Peruvian national champion in 1967, donated the annual ISA World Championship’s SUP Surfing Men’s division trophy, which will be handed out to the individual gold medal winner on the last day of the event. The Club Waikiki Trophy will be awarded to the gold medal team champions, the team that scores the most points of any team for the entire event.

While Arena doesn’t have a trophy named after him for this event (the ISA has the Eduardo Arena Trophy for the ISA World Masters), his impact and influence on the event is no less valuable. Arena won the debut Peruvian National Championship in 1956 and was one of the top surfers in the country. He founded what was then the International Surfing Federation (ISF) in 1964, following the end of the inaugural World Surfing Championships, which were held in Manly, Australia. The ISF became the ISA in 1976.

“The ISF, and later the ISA, was created by the surfers, for the surfers, in order to establish some infrastructure for the sport,” says Aguerre. “For over 40 years we’ve been bringing surfers together to represent themselves and their country for a better surfing future. We continue that approach and that mission today, just days away from our next big event in Peru.”

The ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship begins on Sunday, February 19 with the traditional ISA Opening Ceremony, the Parade of Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony.

The event will be webcasted live on beginning February 19 until the final day, February 25.

The ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship is made possible with the support of the following event partners: IPD, ADO, Club Waikiki. Repsol, Movistar, Casa Andina, Sticky Bumps, NSP, Terra, Municipalidad de Lima, Municipalidad de Miraflores, FENTA, Marina de Guerra del Peru, JAO, and Securitas. The media partners are Terra, StandUp Latino and Surfos.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).