Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Australia’s Nicholas Squiers and Peru’s Miluska Tello win Gold Medals In China

Team Peru, with their Team Gold Medals and holding the ISA China Cup Team Trophy. Photo: ISA/Gonzales

Winners of the ISA China Cup Individual Gold Medals Nicholas Squiers (left) from Australia and Miluska Tello (right) from Peru. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
November 23-28
Riyue Bay, Wanning, Hainan Hainan Island, China

Wanning, Hainan Island, China, November 24, 2014- The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 ISA China Cup.

With strong performances on both the Men and Women’s side, Peru won the Team Gold Medal and the ISA China Cup Team Trophy. Australia placed a close second, earning the Silver Medal, Brazil won the Bronze Medal, and South Africa took the Copper Medal.

In an action-packed heat, Australia’s Nicholas Squiers won the Men’s Gold Medal with a heat total score of 13.93, defeating Silver Medalist, Peru’s Juninho Urcia (11.57), Bronze Medalist, Peru’s Miguel Tudela (11.03) and Copper Medalist, Argentina’s Mariano Arreyes (10.50).

Peru’s Juninho Urcia earned a Silver Medal and helped Peru win the overall Team Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

In a dramatic end to the Women’s Final, Australia’s Jessica Grimwood was in the lead with just a few minutes until the final horn, when Peru’s Miluska Tello earned a 6.17 to move up to first place, allowing Tello to take the win, with a total score of 11.83. In second, earning the Silver Medal, came South Africa’s Tanika Hoffman (9.57), in third, earning the Bronze Medal, Australia’s Jessica Grimwood (9.30) and in fourth, earning the Copper Medal, Costa Rica’s Leilani McGonagle (8.50).

Peru’s Miluska Tello, winner of the ISA China Cup Women’s Gold Medal. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

“I’m very happy and satisfied with the success of hosting the third annual ISA China Cup. Despite the waves not being the best, the surfers showed amazing surfing skill and provided a great show,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

Aguerre continued, “I’m very excited to see the National Chinese Team competing again soon at an ISA World Championship. The opportunities for surfing’s development in China are endless. Congratulations to each member of the participating National Surfing Teams for coming to China and to all medalists. Finally, I would like to express my gratitude to our welcoming hosts, the people and government of China, to our great partners at Beijing Womei Media, and all of the sponsors for joining us in this great competition.”

Men’s Gold Medalist, Nicholas Squiers was thrilled to win and commented:

“It’s one thing to surf for yourself, but to have your country’s emblem in your chest is another thing. You got all your teammates to support you for the heat, and that just gives you more drive. It’s such a beautiful spot here, the water is warm and although the waves are small, it’s a lot of fun. I’ve never been here so it has opened my eyes to another place in the world, it’s fantastic. I’m glad to be here and take the win.

Australia’s Nicholas Squiers, winner of the ISA China Cup Men’s Gold Medal. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Women’s Gold Medalist, Miluska Tello was ecstatic about her win and commented:

“I’m very happy because last year I made it to the Repechage Final and finished in fifth place. This has happened several times that I get eliminated in the Repechage Finals. This time I got the opportunity to reach the Final and win, just like Anali (Gomez) did. We got rid of our bad streak of always losing in the Repechage Finals, Anali is the World Champion and I won this important event.

Women’s Silver Medalist Tanika Hoffman helped Team South Africa earn the overall Team Copper Medal. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The conclusion of the ISA China Cup marks the start of the Hainan Classic, Men’s 4-Star ASP Qualifying Series event. On Tuesday, November 25, competition will resume with he start of the second part of the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival. With a prize purse of $95,000 US, the competition will feature an international field of surfers, including 12 Chinese, by far the most ever in the history of any international surfing competition. This is a testimony to the success the ISA is already having in the short term to fulfilling its mission to develop global surfing, and to developing surfing in China.

Official Forecaster, Surfline, has predicted Small, fading ENE windswell with the surf mainly 2-3ft, knee-waist high with inconsistent sets to around stomach high around favorable tides.

ISA China Cup Team Results:

Final ISA China Cup Team Rankings

  1. 1- Peru- 13,378
  2. 2- Australia- 13,232
  3. 3- Brazil- 9,766
  4. 4- South Africa- 9,760
  5. 5- Argentina- 9,270
  6. 6- Costa Rica- 8,910
  7. 7- Panama 7,640
  8. 8- China 7,140
About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit