Peru will host the 2010 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The perfect waves of Señoritas and Caballeros will see over 200 surfers as members of their National Surfing Teams compete for medals in one of the world’s greatest surfing events

Billabong ISA World Surfing Games
Punta Hermosa, Lima, Peru
21 – 29, October 2010

It’s official, the 2010 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games will be held in the perfect waves of Señoritas and Caballeros, Punta Hermosa, Peru, from October 21 until the 29, 2010.

After reviewing the list of applying nations, the ISA considered Peru to be the perfect location for the 2010 edition of the event. ISA President, Fernando Aguerre stated: “Peru, the birthplace of Latin American surfing has some of the best waves in the world. After the successful ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in 2008, the ISA is looking forward to a great Billabong ISA World Surfing Games in 2010.”

Señoritas and Caballeros is a perfect setting for an ISA event as there are both perfect and consistent left and right pointbreaks that work at the same time and are close to each other. The breaks are located in the famous surfing town of Punta Hermosa, which also has the necessary infrastructure to hold an event of this magnitude.

The Peruvian Surfing Federation is accustomed to organizing world-class surfing events including a historic ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in 2008 that had perfect six-foot waves every single day. In addition, they organized a successful edition of the Pan American Surfing Games in 2006 and have hosted a stop for the ASP Women’s World Tour since 2007.

Karín Sierralta, Executive Director of the Peruvian Surfing Federation and ISA Vice President, showed his excitement after being notified that Peru won the bid by saying: “We are proud to be selected to host an ISA Open World Championship in Peru after 45 years. In 1965, Peru held the World Surfing Championship and the local Peruvian star, Felipe Pomar won the event, becoming an ISA World Champion. We’re looking forward to getting another title at home.”

For the second year in a row, leading surf wear brand Billabong will be the title sponsor of this enormous Olympic Style event. Paul Naude, Billabong USA President, commented: “Billabong’s involvement in our inaugural ISA World Surfing Games in Costa Rica was an eye-opener. The talent, passion, camaraderie and team spirit was fantastic and refreshing in the modern era of competitive surfing. We are very excited about what the event in Peru will deliver.”

The Billabong ISA World Surfing Games will see over 30 countries and over 200 surfers competing in the Open Men, Open Women and Longboard divisions.

The date and venue are set; now teams must start getting ready for one of the biggest events of our sport.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).