Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship Presented by Billabong was an Action-Packed Day


Nicaragua delivers epic surf for Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship (WJSC). The swell, as predicted by Surfline, arrived this morning with waves in the chest to head-high range with some overhead sets.

The first perfect 10-point ride of the event was awarded to Australia’s Kai Hing, who launched a huge air-360. Hing generated great speed down the line and as he approached the closed-out section, he took flight, rotated 360 degrees in the air, and landed perfectly.

The morning started with clean conditions and calm offshore winds. The tide was low and the waves were hollow. As the tide increased throughout the day, the offshore winds got stronger and the surf got even better. The surfers were getting barreled, launching huge airs and doing powerful turns.

“What an incredible day of competition! The performance level of these boys and girls is truly amazing,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The waves were insane today. Nicaragua’s unique offshore wind delivered some of the best conditions I have seen at an ISA World Championship. As we approach the finals, the action is getting better every day. Don’t miss a second of the live webcast. We are all just very happy to be enjoying the Nicaraguan Magic.”

Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA WJSC featured Qualifying Round 3 and Repechage 2 through 4 of the world’s best Junior surfers.

Today’s best surfer in the Boys Under-18 was Andy Criere from France, who in a high-scoring match scored 15.40 defeating Hawaii’s Koa Smith (12.46), Josh Moniz (HAW, 12.27), and Felipe Suarez (ARG, 8.70). In this heat, Criere earned two individual waves of 6.5 and 8.83, awarding him the victory over his fellow contestants.

Other standouts in this division included Japan’s Naomi Kobayashi, USA’s Cam Richards, South Africa’s Benji Brand, and Hawaii’s Kain Daly, getting one step closer to the final advancing on to Qualifying Round 4.

In the Boys Under-16, with a perfect 10, Australia’s Kai Hing got the wave of the event in a nerve-wracking heat. Hing boosted with an amazing air-360 that he landed perfectly.

Even though Hing was given an interference against one of his rivals, causing his second best scoring wave to be cut by half the points, he still managed to advance in first place.

In the Girls Under-18 division, Ella Williams from New Zealand was the best of the day. After falling to the Repechage, Ella earned 15.10 points defeating Ellen Harding (GBR, 6.13), Johanny Alfonso (PAN, 5.76) and Maite de Alava (URU, 1.00).


Costa Rica’s Leilani McGonagle is charging towards the Grand Final through the Repechage Rounds. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Hawaiian Mahina Maeda had the best performance in the Girls Under-16 division. She scored 15.83 defeating Frankie Harrer (USA, 9.67), Isabella Nichols (AUS, 8.20) and Minami Koyama (JPN, 3.23).

For a full list of today’s results, click here-

The 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship resumes Thursday at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Chris Ernst, and with guests from Team South Africa, Ireland, and Argentina.

Following that, the competition will feature:
Main Podium:
3 Heats Qualify 4 Boys U-18
8 Heats Repechage 4 Boys U-16
3 Heats Repechage 4 Girls U-18
3 Heats Repechage 5 Boys U-18
3 Heats Repechage 4 Girls U-16
4 Heats Qualify 4 Boys U-16
4 Heats Repechage 5 Boys U-16

The live webcast of the entire 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is available on

Here is the scheduled for Day 5:
Thursday, 7:40am Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua
Thursday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Thursday, 2:40pm Western Europe
Thursday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).