Panama to Host the 2012 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Gabriel Medina (BRA), 2010 ISA Under 18 World Champion, now surfing the big leagues. Photo: ISA/Scott

Central America will see the world’s best junior surfers compete for their National Teams in the tenth edition of the largest junior surf contest in the world 

ISA World Junior Surfing Championship
April 14 to April 22, 2012

The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce that the 2012 edition of the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, the largest junior surf competition in the world, will be held in Panama from Saturday, April 14 until Sunday, April 22.

Nearly 300 of the world’s best juniors from 35 countries will meet in Panama for the tenth edition of what has become the greatest indicator of tomorrow’s surfing elite, and the path for the champions to the world pro tour.

Some of today’s finest pro tour surfers, including two ASP World Champions, were yesterday’s top contenders in the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship including Jordy Smith (RSA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Owen Wright (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson André (BRA) and Gabriel Medina (BRA) on the men’s side; and Carissa Moore (HAW, 2011 ASP Women’s World Champion), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS, 4x ASP Women’s World Champion), Coco Ho (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Alana Blanchard (HAW), Tyler Wright (AUS) and Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) on the women’s side. All are former participants that have placed high in previous editions of this ISA signature event and are now part of the ASP World Tour surfing elite.

Both the ISA and the Panamanian Tourism Authority are thrilled to announce the destination of next year’s event after receiving several attractive bid options for 2012. ISA President Fernando Aguerre stated, “The surf in Panama is exceptional, and after having great success with the 2011 World Surfing Games (Playa Venao) and the 2010 World Masters Surfing Championship (Santa Catalina), we are eager to bring our Junior World Championship to the perfect, rippable waves and tropical weather of Panama. The ISA is looking forward to a great ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2012 at this surfing paradise.”

The ISA is proud to partner again with organizer and local surfer Patrick Castagnet and his wife and business partner, Tuti de Leon, for the third year in a row to make this event possible. The Directors of Surf Box said, “The ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is by far the greatest and most prestigious junior surfing event in the sport. We are proud to welcome nearly 300 of the world’s hottest Under 18 surfers and see them enjoying the perfect waves and offshore winds that we expect every April in Panama. We are looking forward to a great event!”

Panama has consistent waves all year long, both along the Pacific and the Atlantic coasts. The warm tropical climate and friendly people make it a perfect destination for this highly competitive surfing event, which will feature the best Under 18 Boys, Under 16 Boys and Under 18 Girls in the world.

The exact break where the event will be held is going to be announced soon. Stay logged to

After nine years, surf brand Quiksilver will no longer be the title sponsor of the ISA World Juniors. The ISA appreciates and thanks all of those at Quiksilver, led by Chairman Bob McKnight, who made this long-term partnership with the ISA possible.  The ISA will announce a new title sponsor soon.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).