Olympic Qualification Update: Jordy Smith, Sally Fitzgibbons, Stephanie Gilmore, and Kanoa Igarashi Secure Slots for Tokyo 2020

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

With two events remaining on the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), a host of surfers have already mathematically earned provisional qualification for Surfing’s debut in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) is well on her way to representing her nation at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) is well on her way to representing her nation at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

South Africa’s Jordy Smith, Australia’s Sally Fitzgibbons and Stephanie Gilmore, and Japan’s Kanoa Igarashi are all lined up to represent their nations at the Games. 

The 2019 WSL CT awards qualification slots to the top 10 men and 8 women, with a limit of two surfers per gender for each country.

The Lima 2019 Pan American Games determined the first qualification slots in July for Tokyo 2020, with Peru’s Lucca Mesinas and Daniella Rosas earning the nods with their Gold Medals in the Men’s and Women’s Divisions, respectively.

Eight more slots were determined at the 2019 ISA World Surfing Games as Morroco’s Ramzi Boukhiam, Japan’s Shun Murakami, Portugal’s Frederico Morais, and New Zealand’s Billy Stairmand earned the slots for the men. The women’s slots belong to New Zealand’s Ella Williams, Israel’s Anat Lelior, Japan’s Shino Matsuda, and South Africa’s Bianca Buitendag.

Kanoa Igarashi has secured his provisional slot for Team Japan at Tokyo 2020. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

Kanoa Igarashi has secured his provisional slot for Team Japan at Tokyo 2020. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

With a Japanese man and woman earning qualification regularly and not through the dedicated host nation slots (Igarashi, Murakami and Matsuda), that will open an additional slot for each gender at the 2020 ISA World Surfing Games. Five men and seven women slots will be contested in May of next year.

All earned slots are provisional until a final announcement after the closing of the 2020 ISA World Surfing Games and subject to nomination by the respective NOC and meeting the ISA Olympic Eligibility Requirements. 

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“The qualification race is heating up as we have already seen many of the world’s top surfers earn their pass to Tokyo. 

“We also are proud to highlight the wide geographic reach of surfing and the surfers that have qualified for the Olympics. All continents are represented, which will truly bring all corners of the globe together for the Surfing competition at the Games. 

“Stay tuned to who will earn the final coveted slots for Surfing’s Olympic debut!”

Tokyo 2020 Qualification Update:

2019 World Surf League Championship TourJordy Smith (RSA)
Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)

8 more slots TBD
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

6 more slots TBD
2020 ISA World Surfing Games (May 2020)5 slots TBD7 slots TBD
2019 ISA World Surfing GamesShun Murakami (JPN)
Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
Billy Stairmand (NZL)
Frederico Morais (POR)
Shino Matsuda (JPN)
Anat Lelior (ISR)
Bianca Buitendag (RSA)
Ella Williams (NZL)
Lima 2019 Pan Am GamesLucca Messinas (PER)Daniella Rosas (PER)
Total20 men20 women
About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).