Officially Open, the 2015 ISA World Standup Paddle and Paddleboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

27 National SUP Teams with their Flags Flooded the Streets of Sayulita, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico. The Opening Ceremony’s Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony Celebrated the ISA Spirit.

_IEL9554ISA President Fernando Aguerre amongst the flags of the 27 National Teams, officially declared open the 2015 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship Presented by Hotel Kupuri in Sayulita, Mexico. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

The 2015 International Surfing Association (ISA) World Championship Series commenced on Sunday, May 10 with the first event of the year. The Opening Ceremony of the ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC) Presented by Hotel Kupuri was hosted in Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico.

In attendance were 27 National Delegations that traveled to Mexico from every continent. Local dignitaries, contest officials and thousands of enthusiastic spectators were witnesses to the start of the most important annual SUP competition in the world.

The start of the celebration began Parade of Nations. Each team marched through the heart of the colorfully rich, coastal village of Sayulita. The parade is part of the ISA ceremonies uniting the athletes of the world.

_EED7439 The 27 National Delegations parading through the heart of the colorfully rich, coastal village of Sayulita in front of thousands of local spectators during the Parade of Nations.
Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

At the end of the parade, on the beach of Sayulita, every nation participated in the Sands of the World Ceremony. One-by-one, two members from each team took to the main stage pouring sand from their local beach into the glass container while waving their flag. The end result was 27 layers of sand, symbolizing the peaceful gathering of Surfing and SUP nations.

_61R0047 Aida Ramos and Fernando Stalla from Team Mexico pour sand into a glass container during the Sands of the World Ceremony to symbolize the peaceful gathering of Surfing and SUP nations. Photo: ISA/Brian Bielmann

Thereafter came a number of cultural performances including, a Mariachi band, Huicholes Mexican dancers from Nayarit, and a group of Jalisco dancers. They delivered an authentic flavor of the host city and state, captivating the minds of all in attendance and visitors alike.

_89A9436Traditional Mexican cultural performances kept the audience captivated. Photo: ISA/Ben Reed

“Welcome everybody to the 2015 ISA SUP and Paddleboard Championship in Sayulita, Mexico,” exclaimed ISA President Fernando Aguerre to all in attendance. “Thank you to all the teams. I know you have made a big effort to come to Mexico to participate, and, of course, thanks to our host Mexico, the state of Nayarit and Sayulita.”

Aguerre added, “This is a very historical moment for SUP, Surfing and the ISA. Today we have all the best SUP surfers, SUP racers, and paddlers of the world, in true Olympic spirit. We are working hard to have our sports included in the 2018 Youth Olympic Games, the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games and the 2019 Pan American Games.”

Aguerre closed his speech to the crowd with, “At the end of the day, some of you may take medals home but most of you will not, but all should take with you a great memory of the times spent in Sayulita. Take home the warmth of the Mexican people. Muchas gracias. Thank you. Mahalo, Domo arigato, Tanti Grazie, and Muito obrigado… Viva el SUP, viva el surf!”

Competition starts Monday with The Morning Show at 7:45am (local time), featuring the host Beau Hodge, who will be introducing the event, followed by:

Men’s SUP Surfing Main Event 1
Women’s SUP Surfing Main Event 1
Men’s SUP Surfing Main Event 2
Women’s SUP Surfing Main Event 2

Watch the live webcast on –


About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).