Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Over 300 of the World’s Best Junior Surfers from 34 Countries will Gather in Playa Jiquiliste to Compete for Gold Medals and the ISA World Junior Team Champion Trophy

The 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship Presented by Billabong will be held at the world-class beach break in Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua from June 8-16.

DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship Presented by Billabong
June 8-16
Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua

La Jolla, California, May 24, 2013- The International Surfing Association (ISA) is excited to announce the ISA will be returning to Nicaragua for the second year in a row for the 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship (WJSC) Presented by Billabong from June 8-16.

Nicaragua last hosted the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in Playa Colorado in 2012.

The most important Junior event in the world has the full support of Nicaragua’s President, Daniel Ortega, and the country’s Minister of Tourism, Mayra Salinas Uriarte.

34 Nations and over 300 of the World’s best Junior surfers (under 18 and under 16 boys and girls) will gather at the world-class beach break in Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua, to compete for the ISA World Junior Team Champion Trophy and individual Gold Medals.

“Nicaragua hosted one of the best and most exciting ISA World Championships ever last year and I can’t be happier to return to this beautiful country and its excellent waves,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Thanks to the support of Nicaragua’s President Ortega, the Institute of Tourism, DAKINE, Billabong, and the country’s welcoming and warm-hearted people, this will be an incredible event. The world’s best junior surfers are guaranteed to put on a great show.”

Nicaragua is a beautiful country with hundreds of miles of coastline filled with perfect warm-water waves and favorable offshore wind conditions year round.  Photo: ISA/ Rommel Gonzales

The ISA WJSC brings together the top Junior surfers in the world. The defending champions from the 2012 ISA World Juniors are Brazil’s Matheus Navarro, (Gold Medalist, Boys under-18), Hawaii’s Dax McGill, (Gold Medalist, Girls under-18), Hawaii’s Kalani David, (Gold Medalist, Boys under-16), and Team Hawaii, the overall ISA World Junior Team Champion.

The 2013 ISA WJSC will include the Boys under-18, Girls under-18, Boys under-16, and for the first time ever, Girls under-16, which the ISA has added as the number of participants in this age group continues to explode globally. Each division will produce individual Gold, Silver, Bronze and Copper Medalists that will play a crucial role in the overall team standings.

To watch the official event promo, visit the official event website, where you will soon find photos, videos and the live webcast beginning on Saturday, June 8 with the Opening Ceremony. Competition begins on Sunday, June 9, and the Finals and Closing Ceremony will be Sunday, June 16.

You can also watch the live webcast on the following media outlets:

ISA Member Nations’ Websites

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).