Nicaragua to Host 2012 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The most decorated female surfer of all time, Australia’s Layne Beachley won an ISA Gold Medal last year to add to her seven ASP world titles, and has the chance to go back-to-back in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Watts

Event Will Be the Country’s First Time Hosting a Surfing World Championship

Nicaragua ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
July 14 to 22, 2012
Somewhere, Nicaragua

After months of searching and considering bids, the ISA has announced that the fifth edition of the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship will take place in the land of constant offshore winds: Nicaragua. The event will run from July 14-22, which is during the country’s Veranillo, or “little summer,” a time known for favorable winds and great waves.

“We’re very excited to be bringing an ISA event to Nicaragua for the first time,” said Fernando Aguerre, the President of the ISA. “The country has many quality waves that have been attracting surfers for years, but in small amounts. Hopefully this event will help spread the word to surfers around the world, so that they can learn and come to appreciate the nice waves, the nice weather and the warmth of the Nicaraguan people.”

The event is supported at the highest level of government in Nicaragua. Negotiations were held with the Minister of Tourism, Mario Salinas, who has confirmed the full support of the President of Nicaragua, Daniel Ortega.

“We, the people of Nicaragua, are very excited and proud to have won the bid to host the 2012 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship. Such a prestigious event is a wonderful opportunity for our country, where tourism has become one of the most viable economic sectors with great potential for investment and employment,” Minister Salinas said. “It gives us the chance to show not only our beautiful natural landscapes, beaches and waves, but also our culture and warm hospitality. This event will be a historical landmark in Nicaraguan beach culture. This event will also contribute to the growth of Nicaragua and to its positioning in the world of surfing and tourism.”

Though the host country and the dates are selected, the site venue is still being finalized. Three waves on the Pacific Ocean side of the country are being considered, all of which are exposed to the Lago de Nicaragua effect. Due to the lake’s large expanse of water, winds blow offshore on the Pacific side of the country more than 300 days out of the year.

The Masters event brings together the top over-35 surfers in the world. Many of the competitors are former professional surfers and some are even former world champions – and those particular surfers are continuing to prove themselves of championship caliber. Past Masters division champions include three-time ASP World Champion Tom Curren (USA) and seven-time women’s ASP World Champion Layne Beachley (AUS).

Other Masters standout competitors include four-time ISA Gold Medalist Juan Ashton (PUR), two-time Gold Medalist Heather Clark (RSA), and two-time Gold Medalist Chris Knutsen (RSA), along with former ASP World Tour standouts Ross Williams (HAW), Rob Page (AUS) and Fabio Gouveia (BRA).

Be sure to check in to for further updates about the event as they are released.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).