Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

The Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University team from Port Elizabeth successfully defended the Institutional Team title at the annual USSA Students Surfing Championships which was completed in good surf and fine weather at Victoria Bay near George on Friday June 26th .

image005 The victorious Madibaz Surfing Team. Photo: Surfing South Africa

The Madibaz posted a total score of 41,240 points to defeat the University of Stellenbosch. The Maties scored 39,640 points.

The University of Cape Town team came third with 35,860 points followed by the Cape Peninsula University of Technology with 33,040 points and Varsity College with 30,260 points.

The Madibaz also took honours in the Men’s division narrowly beating the Maties.UCT were third, CPUT came fourth and Varsity College filled fifth.

The girls from Varsity College defended their 2014 Women’s Division with a huge 11,660 points victory over NMMU, who posted 8,920 points.UCT scored 8,740 points to take third, Maties were fourth with 8,240 and CPUT scored 6,080 to come fifth.

2013 ISA World Champion Shaun Joubert of the University of Stellenbosch took the title in the Men’s Final ahead of 2014 winner, Jean Du Plessis of NMMU. Wade Simkiss of Varsity College was third and Jeandre Blignaut of CPUT took fourth place.

image007Shaun Joubert, 2013 ISA World Surfing Games Gold Medalist, finds a barrel on his way to victory.
Photo: Surfing South Africa

Varsity College surfers Nicole Pallet and Chanelle Botha showed why they are rated as two of the best surfers in the country by finishing first and second respectively in the Women’s Final. Nikita Kekana of UCT was third and 2014 champion Roxy Giles of NMMU came fourth.

image006USSA Women’s Champion Nicole Pallet of Varisty College. Photo: Luke Patterson

At the completion of the annual event USSA officials selected the 2015 USSA Surfing Team which is made up of eight men and four women.

The Men are Shaun Joubert (US),Jean du Plessis (NMMU),Wade Simkiss(VC),Jeandre Blignaut (CPUT),Daniel Wilson(UCT),Dane Van Greunen (NMMU),Dominic Notten (VC) and Arthur Withers (US).

The Women members of the team are Nicole Pallet (VC), Chanelle Botha (VC), Nikita Kekana (UCT) and Roxy Giles (NMMU).

The USSA Students Surfing Championships were presented by USSA and sanctioned by Surfing South Africa.

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport in South Africa and is a member the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).