South African National SUP team for 4th ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship announced

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

Stand-Up Paddling South Africa (SUPSA) are proud to announce the names of the members of the national SUP team which will represent South Africa at the 4th ISA World Stand-up Paddle and Paddleboard Championships to be held in Sayulita, Mexico from May 10 to 17, 2015.

SUPSA is affiliated to Surfing South Africa (SSA), the recognised national sports body governing surf riding in South Africa and a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). Surfing South Africa is a member of the International Surfing Association (ISA).

The 2015 South African SUP team has been ratified by the Surfing South Africa Board of Directors.

“Surfing South Africa congratulates each member of the national SUP team on their selection to represent their country. This is a prestigious International Surfing Association sanctioned event and we look forward to watching the team waving the South African flag high in Mexico,” said Robin de Kock, General Manager of Surfing South Africa.

South Africa's Justin Bing SUPSouth Africa’s Justin Bing surfing in last year’s ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweedle

“We have a strong team representing South Africa at this year’s ISA World Stand Up Paddle and Paddleboard Championships. This is testament to the growth of the sport along our coastline. With seasoned riders from last year’s event along with fresh new talent in the team, we can look forward to top-class performances in the water against the world’s top SUP surfing and paddling nations,” said Bruce Johnston, President of Stand-Up Paddling South Africa.

The national team to represent South Africa at the ISA World Championships includes the following team management, SUP surfers, SUP racing paddlers and prone paddleboarders from Kwazulu – Natal and the Western Cape.

South Africa's Tarryn Kyte SUPTarryn Kyte in the 2014 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweedle

SUP surfing

Justin Bing:Durban, Kwazulu – Natal

Thomas King: Tokai, Western Cape

Tarryn Kyte: Tokai, Western Cape

SUP racing

Dylan Frick:Gordons Bay, Western Cape

Ethan Koopmans:Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Wade Keet: Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Joshua Robertson: Melkbosstrand, Western Cape

Mishka Steyn: Strand, Western Cape

South Africa's Dylan Frick racing against Denmark's Casper SteinfathDylan Frick (in white) racing against Denmark’s Casper Steinfath in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Prone paddleboard racing

Ryan Butcher:Durban, Kwazulu – Natal

Jayden Loots: Cape Town, Western Cape

Anna Notten: Kalk Bay, Western Cape

Team management

Candace Hurn (Western Cape) : Manager

Gary van Rooyen (Western Cape) : Coach

James Raaff  (Western Cape) : Medical Support

For further information on SUPSA and the national SUP team contact Bruce Johnston on

Team South Africa at Parade of Nations Opening CeremoniesTeam South Africa in the Parade of Nations during the Opening Ceremony at the 2014 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Chapionship in Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales


SUPSA was established in late 2010 as a national sports body to promote stand-up paddle (SUP) boarding in South Africa as a sporting and lifestyle activity. It caters for the both wave-riding and race paddling disciplines, and encourages competitive and social SUP riders to participate in the sport through sanctioned SUPSA surfing and racing events. SUPSA is affiliated to Surfing South Africa. For more information visit

About Surfing South Africa

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is the recognized governing body for the sport of surfing in South Africa. SSA is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). SSA is a member of the the International Surfing Association (ISA), the World governing body for the sport. For more information about SSA visit

See more teams:
United States