Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Athletes from More Than a Dozen Countries to Compete for Gold Medals December 6-13


The 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship is just two weeks away, as National Teams from every continent are set to converge in the ocean of Chile’s wave-rich north coast.

From December 6 to 13, athletes from more than a dozen countries will compete for the Gold Medals and showcase their world-class skill sets at the hollow reef break of la Punta 1 in Iquique, Chile.

afiche ISA 2015 IQUIQUE_cThe official event poster of the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship.

Iquique will host the 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship for the second consecutive year, after the 2014 edition marked the first time an ISA World Championship took place in the country. The Chileans took advantage of the first chance to defend their home break and put on a historic performance, winning the ISA World Team Champion Trophy.

The world-class waves of la Punta 1 are attracting the world’s best bodyboarders to the ISA World Championship, including many past ISA Gold Medalists. France’s Amaury Lavernhe (Dropknee, 2014), Japan’s Shiori Okazawa (Girls U-18, 2012), Brazil’s Neymara Carvaljo (Open Women, 2013), Peru’s Carolina Botteri (Girls U-18, 2014), Brazil’s Eder Luciano (Open Men, 2012, 2013) and France’s Pierre Louis Costes (Open Men, 2012) are among the ISA Gold Medalists who have confirmed their attendance and will look to return to the top of the podium this year in Chile.

PER_Carolina Botteri_Rommel_Gonzales Peru’s Carolina Botteri, the 2014 Girls U-18 Gold Medalist, will return to attempt a return to the top of the podium in the Women’s Open Division in 2015. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, spoke about the energy building towards the competition.

“The 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship is shaping up to be another historic year of competition. With the return of ISA Gold Medalists and new athletes looking to prove themselves on a global stage, I expect to see high performance bodyboarding taken to new heights.

“Chile provides amazing waves, great weather and the warmth of their people, making it the perfect destination to return to for this year’s edition and hopefully many more ISA World Championships in the future.”

POR_Miguel Adao_Rommel_GonzalesMiguel Adão has been selected to compete for Team Portugal in the 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship will start with the traditional Opening Ceremony, including the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony on December 6. The competition will begin December 7, with the Finals and Closing Ceremony on December 13, when the Team and Individual World Champions will be crowned.

The action will be webcasted live on from December 6-13.

The schedule for the 2015 ISA World Bodyboard Championship will be as follows:

  • Sunday, December 6 – Opening Ceremony featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World
  • Monday, December 7- Sunday December 13 – Competition taking place at Punta 1
  • Sunday, December 13 – Closing Ceremony and Awards Ceremony
About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).