Masters World Champion Juan Ashton Gets Ready at Santa Catalina for the Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Ashton enjoying Santa Catalina´s perfection. Photo: Demarsan


CONTACT: Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
Santa Catalina, Panama
Event dates: 27 August – 5 September

Showing that he´s really looking forward to an even more historical record breaking world title, the two times Masters World Champion, Juan Ashton of Puerto Rico, spent a week in Santa Catalina training for the Panama ISA World Masters Surfing Championship.

Ashton is the sole winner of the Master division of this event, the world´s biggest surfing event for over 35 year old surfers. In 2007 he won the gold at home, with pumping 10 foot waves at Marías, Rincón. He won again one year later, in the perfect waves of Punta Rocas, Peru.

The Puerto Rican enjoyed the perfection of Santa Catalina, “The wave was exactly what I expected, a serious break with a lot of power. You can definitely compare it to Haleiwa or Sunset in Hawaii,” said Ashton.

For the 2010 edition of the event, Ashton is getting ready and training hard to win for the third time in a row. He will also compete this year in the Grand Masters (over 40) division for the first time.

“My goal is to make it to the final in the Grand Masters. It would be great to get a good result in this division since is my first time competing on it. But also, I’ve to say that winning a third world title in the Masters would be like a dream coming true!” added Ashton.

The Puerto Rican also informed the ISA of who will be surfing alongside him for Puerto Rico.

The Puerto Rican National Masters Surfing Team is formed by:

Masters (Over 35): Juan Ashton and Gustavo Bentancourt

Grand Masters (Over 40): Juan Ashton and Ricardo Villanueva

Kahunas (Over 45): Héctor González and Alberto Licha

Grand Kahunas (Over 50): Javier Gorbea

The Puerto Rico National Masters Surfing Team placed second in the 2007 edition of the event and fifth in 2008.

About the International Surfing Association (ISA)
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running world championships since 1964 and the Junior World Championships since 1980.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies (NGBs) of over 60 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided by Fernando Aguerre, first elected in 1994 in Rio, and re-elected six times since. The ISA’s four Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Robin de Kock (South Africa), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).