Kolohe Andino, Jeremy Flores, Tatiana Weston-Webb, and Johanne Defay Capture Slots for Tokyo 2020 via World Surf League Championship Tour

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

With one event remaining, race for final 10 qualification slots comes down to Pipeline

Four more surfers secured their slots for Tokyo 2020 following the World Surf League’s Meo Rip Curl Pro in Peniche, Portugal 

USA’s Kolohe Andino, France’s Jeremy Flores and Johanne Defay, and Brazil’s Tatiana Weston-Webb will represent their nations when Surfing makes its debut in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Kolohe Andino has secured the first men’s slot for Team USA at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

Kolohe Andino has secured the first men’s surfing slot for Team USA at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

The 2019 World Surf League Championship Tour awards Tokyo 2020 qualification slots to the top 10 men and top 8 women, with a limit of two surfers per gender for each nation.

With one event remaining on the tour schedule, the final six men’s and four women’s slots will be contested at the Billabong Pipe Masters December 8-20.

Among the qualification races that will come down to Pipeline are three Brazilians, Italo Ferreira, Gabriel Medina, and Filipe Toledo, vying for two slots, and USA’s Carissa Moore, Caroline Marks, and Lakey Peterson chasing two slots on the women’s side.

All earned slots are provisional until a final announcement after the closing of the 2020 ISA World Surfing Games and subject to nomination by the respective NOC and meeting the ISA Olympic Eligibility Requirements.

Tatiana Weston-Webb will get her chance to represent Brazil at Tokyo 2020. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Tatiana Weston-Webb will get her chance to represent Brazil at Tokyo 2020. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“It’s incredible to see the lineups taking shape for the first wave of Olympic surfers. We have only 10 slots left to be earned through the WSL, which will lead to a very exciting and historic edition of the Pipe Masters in Hawaii.

“Congratulations to all those who have earned provisional qualification and I am looking forward to see who else makes history and joins the ride to Tokyo.”

Tokyo 2020 Qualification Update:

2019 World Surf League Championship TourJordy Smith (RSA)
Kolohe Andino (USA)
Kanoa Igarashi (JPN)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)

6 more slots TBD
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
Johanne Defay (FRA)
Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)

4 more slots TBD
2020 ISA World Surfing Games (May 2020)5 slots TBD7 slots TBD
2019 ISA World Surfing GamesShun Murakami (JPN)
Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
Billy Stairmand (NZL)
Frederico Morais (POR)
Shino Matsuda (JPN)
Anat Lelior (ISR)
Bianca Buitendag (RSA)
Ella Williams (NZL)
Lima 2019 Pan Am GamesLucca Messinas (PER)Daniella Rosas (PER)
Total20 men20 women
About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).