“It’s Simple: We all unite to beat it, or it beats us. It’s the battle of our lives, and for our lives.”

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

A message for humanity from ISA President Fernando Aguerre

To my fellow sisters and brothers in surfing, I have something to tell you: We love the ocean and riding its waves, but it’s time to stay at home.

Like so many of us around the world, we’ve received instructions to not go out and to stay at home — at home, just as other athletes have been asked to do. The waves will always be there. Soon enough we will all be able to return to the place that we love so much. Now is the time to defeat this enemy that has invaded us. 

Take advantage of these times. Be with your family, listen to music, sing, dance, read and cook. Thus, while humanity heals, the planet also heals from the many wounds that we have caused. Let’s take care of ourselves and take care of others. While each of us is at home and separated from each other, we are all in this fight together. We will prevail.

Selfie after my last surf yesterday.

Selfie after my last surf yesterday.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).